You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Everything Is Biodegradable. Especially You

in #culture5 years ago

I think this is the best idea ever. The problem is there are not very many green burial sites in my area. The only one I am aware of is in the next county. They do allow monuments.

Sort:  

I bet it's a lot more difficult for the cold climates because the winter ground is frozen very hard and the beautiful green site would only be beautiful for a short time but it's still a good idea. People just wouldn't be coming to put flowers on your grave. It makes more sense for big cities burying so many people each day.

You are right about the ground being froze hard here for a lot of the year. If you need to know how deep the frost is at any given time, just ask the cemetery sexton. He will know!

I bet they have to have some powerful equipment to dig the graves in the dead of winter! I don't even know what they would use, do you? Guess I could google it. I never thought about it before.

George is the sexton of the cemetery in my hometown where my family members are buried. He is a marshal arts expert and takes great pride in the fact that he digs every grave by hand. In the winter he uses a pick to break through the frost. As he has gotten older his two daughters have stepped up and work beside their dad. Many people around the county call George to have him come out to the farm if a horse dies and the ground is frozen.

wow! that is amazing! I didn't know anyone dug them by hand anymore. And his daughters are working with him! That's amazing too! Ya'll have some amazing people up there. lol. How are you doing today?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67688.54
ETH 3821.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55