You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Traditions of the Czech Republic: May 1 - Czech version of the St. Valentine´s Day

in #culture6 years ago

What I love about travel is to learn about and experience the cultures of different countries. The food, music, art, especially the countryside and local people. When I lived in the US, I had two close friends from the Czech Republic. These friends and their families were some of the genuinely nice and good people I have ever met.
In Canada, where my family is from, the celebrate May 1 and call it May Day. If a girl liked a boy, she had to make a basket (called a May basket) and she would put it in front of a boy she liked and yell “May Day!” Then she would run! If the boy liked her her would run after her and when he caught her, like your custom, kiss her!
Thanks for this glimpse in the Czech culture.
Daddy William

Sort:  

Wow! That is something new to me. What a nice tradition to share. Thank you so much for that.

It is my pleasure! I truly enjoyed your post! I have been to 35 countries. I live in the Philippines at this time. I have been trying to get my photo library, on CD sent to me. The folks in the states can’t seem to find them. When I get them, I would do some travel type posts.
Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62120.17
ETH 3179.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75