You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey You Can't Treat Criminals Like Criminals!

in #culture5 years ago

At the end of the day, I think it all comes back to this: perception. When I saw the picture of the officers riding a horse, I think it was cool mainly because it would really be easier for them to pursue offenders in "tight" corners which might not be accessible by car.

Looking at the picture and, I am just wondering, will this same people be yelling injustice, racism and whatnots if the arrested person came from a white background?

I understand that it was necessary to ensure that the offender will not run away- thus the rope and the handcuffs were there.

Sort:  

Howdy nurseanne84! You are SO logical! lol. I love that. Yes, the rope was just to keep him from running away, it was tied to his handcuffs, it wasn't a leash. We would not have heard from activists about this if it had been a white suspect, but like you said it's all about perception and you could not have designed a more inflamatory image! lol. It was just business as usual for the officers I'm sure, I'm sure they weren't mean racists but the optics fueled alot of outrage.

I never would have posted about it if I knew it was going to upset so many people! I just thought it was an interesting story and one that would not fit that look anywhere in the world except Texas because of our Western cowboy heritage. Thanks so much for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62862.51
ETH 3180.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81