Another Side of True Appearance of where I live.

in #culture7 years ago

20170928

I have my family in Seoul. And my office is located in at 2 and half hours distance from Seoul. I am commuting by car every weekend.

It was more than hundred times to see same boring scene out of car window.
That was the continuation of cars and grey buildings.

But suddenly the idea, this boring scene could be the real appearance of my city, hit my head.
So I took the photos of what it looked like not special.

I began to take the photos of the highway.

The scenary on the highway seemed to be not specific, but that is one of our real daily life.
This ordinary and common scene is a true appearance of our city.

Finally I arrived at Seoul.
This is real appearance of Seoul

heavy traffics

and people by the street

I took some more photos by the river.

When I took the photos, I didn't think that the photos of the road gave me any special meaning.
But these photos were impressive to me.
These unemotional photos seemed to tell me something about this place where I belong.

Each city has it's real face.

Sort:  

An interesting post today, @slowwalker, to see the exceptional beneath the appearance of the ordinary.

The quaint ruins of walls and temples didn't seem quaint to the ancient peoples - to them, they were modern and part of their daily life.

While we may marvel at the huge, hewn stones of a wall, to the ancient Koreans that was simply part of the humdrum scenery of their daily life.

Technology is moving so quickly that in a few short years the phones and cameras we use to take photos and the computers we view and post them on will seem antiquated and 'quaint' as well.

With the advent of autonomous cars, the cityscape so familiar to us will change. Large downtown parking lots and parking garages will disappear.

With each new invention the world about us will subtly change until the photos you posted today will not look 'ordinary' to us, but quaint relics of a bygone time.

It is difficult to stand back and look at your own time and culture as if through the eyes of a stranger - the closest we come to that experience is visiting another country and looking back on our own culture from that point of view.

As I said, an interesting post today, @slowwalker.

Phase 1: You write but hardly anyone views or likes

Phase 2: You continue writing more, but result is the same, you want views/likes/shares/followers, you start tagging influencers who write more, this is where most people give up, or stay for a long time

Phase 3: You stop writing for likes/views/shares/followers people start to read what you write, people start to follow you

Phase 4: People wait to read what you write, trollers try to discourage you, you either get discouraged or continue to write, views/likes/shares/followers/connection requests/messages shoot up. At some point you may face a writers block here

Phase 5: Trollers vanish & even if they dont, its just you, your writing & those who love reading what you write

Phase 6: Dont know what happens here, probably you become a linkedin influencer

Writing or Living on linkedin is very akin to "Living" or "Working" in life. You can enter from Phase 3 as well. Interestingly your first degree connections dont help much, very few of them like your posts till phase 4. There are no timelines

Where are you stuck?

If you need help pls connect with

Neat photography, thanks for sharing;)

The truth is, we never stop and see what is around us. I use to take for granted my home in Colombia. Now every time I return to Colombia, I enjoy looking at the mountains and the people that define what Colombia really is. There us nothing like the city or country that you are from and how the culture can define you as a person.

slowwalker, it's really nice knowing more about you
I love the your idea

The scenary on the highway seemed to be not specific, but that is one of our real daily life

So interesting!!!

Nice shots uploaded by you. Traffic , Beautiful scenes on the way to Office all are the general appearances.....But still nice photography

Nice, clean and organized city, but are there many traffic jam occurred?

Very interesting I see your routine journey. I find peace in your photos. thanks for sharing @slowwalker

@slowwalker, nice post wonderful photography
UPVOTED.

I really enjoying discovering the roads of your country my friend. They are actually very large, in my country the largest main road has 2 ways on each directions, that's all!
Your's is 3 times larger than that of my country. Wow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87