You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'Curation Trail' vs "Promoted post" an ethical dilemma...

in #curation-trail5 years ago (edited)

I personally don't see anything wrong with either, as curation trails and post promo are available to all users to take part of at will. If either were exclusive, I'd have a bigger issue with it. I actually appreciate some post promotion, as there are a lot of great articles written here that no one ever sees, because of a simple lack of exposure, and has nothing to do with the quality of the post.
I've never used a post promo service, but I also wouldn't NOT read someone's post just because it showed up as promo. Perhaps it would be more ethical if they announced which were promoted?
When a huge group sees a quality post and promotes it, obviously that's the best, and probs most ethical way but usually they also have a curation trail of "mindless or read less voting".
That being said, I still take part in curation trails as I feel they help boost the steemit community in general.
To sum up, I'm all for live voting, but bots obvi have their place, as they are here, and accessible to all, so it's hard to fault people who use them when anyone can.
IMO also, quality posting will always win out on all levels, the rest is a playing field which means there will always be "cheaters" as well as those who are simply viewed as such, even though they are only using the system as it was designed. It's a fine line!

Good question btw

Xx ToL

Sort:  

Nice to get a good decent sober comment @thetreeoflife.

I actually appreciate some post promotion, as there are a lot of great articles written here that no one ever sees, because of a simple lack of exposure, and has nothing to do with the quality of the post.

I agree to the fullest...

When a huge group sees a quality post and promotes it, obviously that's the best, and probs most ethical way but usually they also have a curation trail of "mindless or read less voting".

So having a "curation trail" inhibits giving a nicely "100% powered upvote" to a really awesome article you stumble upon?

I'm not on discord and not always up to date with the latest trend also tend to go my own way, so I don't really join up with serious groups, (well,I do use @artturtle because I'm a patron of the arts, but other then that no).

I am considering to utilise https://steemconnect.com in order to join curation trails and auto-vote, because Im getting a bit too attached to steemit, and I could use a little x-mas break...

But Im not sure... Also Im afraid that this attitude against "post promotion services" is like a general attitude in the upper echelon of the steemit echo echo echo system, (the last sentence was a bad joke)...😜

/FF

It certainly doesn't inhibit further curation, and that's a good point.

I guess my next question would be, is promoting posts using bots actually harmful to the platform, or are people upset about it because they feel it's unfair in some way?

If it's not harmful, then it just comes down to personal principles and priorities.

Some may choose to boost their own accounts based on personal principle of live interaction, some would rather not, and so long as it doesn't hurt anyone or the platform as a whole, meh?

I could even argue that If someone has a great idea, it could be a disservice to the platform to NOT share those ideas using post promo. Couldn't it be more important to get great content actually seen than not, just because of principle?

I guess my next question would be, is promoting posts using bots actually harmful to the platform, or are people upset about it because they feel it's unfair in some way?

I don't know Im not that kind of person, but I could guess people who have been "grinding it away" here for a few years, building connections, teams and such might get a bit "salty" when they see new users pushing their articles to thousands of steemians with resteeming services...?

The only harmfulness would be "dysfunctional resteeming providers" who "over charge" and only have bot followers so I guess you have to watch out for those. I usually I don't make a super positive ROI when I use a whole bunch of resteeming services, but at least I get my article seen/read/upvoted by some more people, and in the long run I guess its "brand promotion" so the ROI might be a positive in the long run anyway...

I could even argue that If someone has a great idea, it could be a disservice to the platform to NOT share those ideas using post promo. Couldn't it be more important to get great content actually seen than not, just because of principle?

I agree, principles are only good if they make sense...
Thanks for your comment.

/FF

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99