It is not so obvious.

in #curation5 years ago

rajlmuqcyb.jpg
source

Nothing is an exact science and curation rewards are a lot harder than you can imagine to get right. I spent a good day studying this art yesterday and I wouldn't say it was a waste of time, but I did learn quite a bit. I see curation as a very important part of future earnings as my account gets bigger.

When I say it is virtually impossible to get the curation return spot on it is of various factors changing constantly. If someone else votes a little earlier it upsets the whole chain of votes following it. The more fiddling we all do looking for the sweet spot the more we have to change again.

I tweaked most of my votes yesterday and some were changed fairly drastically and only time will tell if I messed them up or made improvements. I can see small improvements on some of them already, but I think one day isn't a good test and they will need another few days in order to compare. I have voting times from as low as 3 minutes up to around 13 minutes depending on the author and what votes are expected to land.

I am using around half of my votes on steem auto voter every day and it is fairly straight forward. I have noticed a massive difference by using this service as it helps me vote on the users I follow and I don't miss their posts. You can always comment later and catch up.

This is all so new to most of us as a few months ago this was relatively small and insignificant that it didn't hold much importance.Today though it can make up to 15 to 20 percent of your weekly rewards. An account holding 5000 SP should be looking at growing 20 percent a year on curation alone. Twenty percent growth per year is huge and this is why I think it will become more important going forward.

Honestly my posts don't bring in riches so I need to top up my growth by other means and this is going to be my way forward hopefully. My advice is to throw away the 15 minute thinking and slowly work your way down double checking you are improving.Nothing is guaranteed though and don't be surprised on what you find. one or two minutes may be costing you by as much as another 100 percent on curation rewards.

I will do a follow up in a few days for those that are interested.

Sort:  

Do you use beempy.com? revisesociology shared it in his latest post (didnt use the @ as not sure of the spelling. It may turn your wild ass guess on vote timing into more of a scientific wild ass guess.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes I have used beempy.com. The problem is it is still guesswork as every post has different results. It is not as easy as just using this tool. I wish it was ,but if you do some research you will see it is not just black and white. Some posts are at 4 minutes, others with the same author are at 9 minutes. It is trying to find the sweet spot without messing up what you already have.

It's also changing because many curation bots are using an algo to vote which changes the time of their upvotes based on the votes of the previous posts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks dera. So in other words don't worry too much and find a profitable time to vote as you will never be spot on. I thought as much as when I was looking there was huge fluctuations.

Yep, just don't vote too early and don't vote after the big guys voted ^^
And an 0.02STU upvote can change a lot for the curation.
I am using https://steemrewarding.com because it offers more options. You can even upvote paid-out posts using some simple commands, which is awesome because I like to search for some nice recipes and they are often older than 7 days and I can still give the author my upvote for it.

Yeah thats why I just said using that gives you a scientific wild ass guess.

I plan on digging into it because Im terrible with curration rewards and need to start upping my passive earnings as my steem power grows.

Posted using Partiko Android

I find it fun and interesting at the same time. Honestly I think you are doing well at 100 percent return and anything more is a bonus. The one vote I experimented on I didn't do very well with. Some of the others seem to be up around an extra 20 percent so I will monitor over the next week and will adjust next weekend again. It will be great to see the results if any gains are made or not.

What's the best tool/site you use to monitor your changes. I have no idea how the changes I make are good and bad. Any tips you have as far as websites to use once I start setting up my steemauto would be awesome.

I only use steemworld for that. I would get some history on the curation you are making now on certain users and then see what you are achieving. This will give you the starting point.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @cryptoandcoffee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I look forward to hearing your results! I am still working on getting mine all sorted out to maximum benefit!

It is a fine balance getting it right and it changes all the time so I think getting it better than what you have currently should be the aim. I don't know if it will be possible to maximize to the fullest, but at least we can always try. I am also looking forward to the results and maybe expecting a small percentage in the growth.

That makes sense. Like you said as soon as you adjust your settings if someone bigger than you votes sooner it is going to throw everything off anyway.

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 7.29% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I should definitely have a closer look at auto voting! Sounds like I can improve through that...

Posted using Partiko Android

It helps a lot and just start slowly and recommend you vote around 12 minutes to start with. Play around with the times and you will see it isn't easy, but better than just voting after the 15 minute mark. Some authors will be more lucrative than others.

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.959 which ranks you at #4027 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 27 places in the last three days (old rank 4054).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 212 contributions, your post is ranked at #79.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Greetings dear @cryptoandcoffee.

I was very excited when I began with your reading, I thought you were going to reveal many doubts that I have had for some time around the healing rewards.

But then I realized that you spoke in a very general way. I could also appreciate that it is the initial part of your little experiment.

I will wait anxiously for the analysis of the results.

Thanks for sharing your knowledge with us.

All best, Piotr.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72