Curie Author Showcase (June 16th, 2018)

in #curation6 years ago

  • In spirit of Curie's mission to promote undiscovered but exceptional content, we wish to use this twice weekly section to provide an author showcase for some of the outstanding authors who received Curie upvotes in past week. Curie curators and reviewers nominate authors for inclusion in this showcase and author approval is sought and attained.

  • For those new to Curie, please follow @curie, and join us on Discord: https://discord.gg/jQtWbfj

  • Follow @curie's votes to support the authors. Please consider following our trail and voting for curated authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @curie is an available trail to follow.

  • Vote for the @curie witness to support Curie operations (all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations).

  • If you would like to delegate to Curie you can do so by clicking on the following links:
    50 SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
    Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Featured Author: @montanacellist
Steemit Open Mic Week 89
Improvised Suite for Singing Bowls, Cello and Bass


Images property of @montanacellist

Today we start off the Author Showcase with a not so typical Open Mic entry. Sadly, since they didn't open the video with stating it was for Open Mic Week 89 and their name it didn't count as an official entry.

I love how for the better portion of this performance they each seem to be in their own little worlds and yet they are so totally in-sync with one another. The sounds those singing bowls make together with the cello and bass are just so unique and mesmerizing.

Watch the Video

Featured Author: @diebitch
The Mysterious Miss Silverman :: A Drama Mystery


Images used by @diebitch , from Pixabay

Next up we get into some excellent fiction. This one is a drama mystery that will keep you guessing right to the end. Halfway through the story I thought for sure I saw what the ending was going to be, and was happy it would end there. However, to @diebitch 's credit, when I got to the ending it was entirely different than I was expecting. It is a great storyteller that can achieve that.

The character build-ups and plot twists along the way really work well to move the story along and as I said keep you guessing to the very end. I too will keep you guessing to the end and not give away ANY of the story so you can enjoy for yourself.

Read the Story

Featured Author: @sergphotography
Video: A Week on the Dusky


Images property of @sergphotography

We head out on an epic adventure with @sergphotography next. He headed to New Zealand to challenge himself on the Dusky Trail, Bear Grylls style. Along the way he keeps a video diary, and takes lots of amazing photos. After his own Man vs. Wild week long excursion he edited all the footage together with some great music. So pack up your own gourmet trail mix and set out on this almost half hour long video journey with @sergphotography.

Watch the Video

Featured Author: @adammillwardart
The Painting That Took Me Over 500 hours
Part 2, The Special Secret is Revealed! 🎨


Images property of @adammillwardart

Incredibly artist @adammillwardart put in more than 500 hours on this painting! As you sit and stare at every little detail you can understand why. It is so intricate and detailed. Every time that you stare at a section and then look away, you can look back and spot something entirely new.

Nothing could be truer than that last statement once you find out the secret that this masterpiece holds.

I painted it to celebrate reaching 5000 hours spent painting Mandalas. I keep track of how long each painting takes me. Partly to price them fairly, but also because I'm working towards the idea that it takes 10 000 hours to master something. I want to become a "Master Mandala Painter". - @adammillwardart

Go find out what the secret behind this painting is.


Featured Author: @riottales
The Mortician | Fiction


Images used by @riottales , from Pixabay

It really freaked me out the first time it happened. I was just tagging another body when...

That is how our next wonderful short story begins. While you will soon know the ending of this short story it will be some time before you know how it truly ends as the author, @riottales shared -

This is the start of an idea I have for an anthology that I'd love to publish once it's finished. I thought I'd share it to see what you guys think!

I could actually see this anthology being an episodic television show as it somewhat reminds me of a couple TV shows, but with a different purpose for the story. That is a hard point to get across here without giving away the storyline. So, once you are done reading this great short story please see my one comment on the post for details on what I meant there.

For now enjoy The Mortician!

Read the Story

This Curie Author Showcase was written by Curie Curator @randomwanderings (Gene), at times with input from other Curie curators and reviewers. All images and quoted texts are the copyright of their respective authors.

Sort:  

Thanks you for your kind words, and it feels great to be featured with some amazing authors.

Thank you! I really appreciate being featured!

Awesome job!!

Hey ... Thank you!! That you make time and look.
I hope your day is cool and lot sun there :) And HODL.

Congratulations!. Regards.

What a brilliant post- I'm so glad to discover this series on my second day on Steemit- such a fantastic way to discover brilliant new accounts to follow and content to enjoy. Thank you!
Happy weekend,
E x

Congrats, you made the #steemitminute for today!

Click the Image Below to see the Video!

you have chosen cool posts. it was interesting to read them. thanks for authors!

GREAT FINDINGS AGAIN!

Thanks again for another curation well worth reading. It has been a while since my last sighting of one of your post and glad I came across it again.

Namaste :)

I just found your channel and thanks for the showcases. I really love how you guys give exposure to content creators that are worthwhile =)

Way to go =) I'm a little new to Steemit but I followed and upvoted the post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95