Ballpen Art: Quick Unfinished Sketch

in #curation5 years ago (edited)

Hey! Steemitians how's your day going? Let me share with you how my day is going
I started out a freehand sketch today....Yeah NO GRIDS nothing major just to relax my mind and stretch my hand muscles a bit but my black pen ink got finished :( and this beauty came to be.....I think there's beauty in imperfections or unfinished works
IMG_20190228_084917 (2).jpg

Here's how I started out
First light outlining with pencil HB
Starting with the eyes first and the nose
IMG_20190227_094417.jpg

Then I moved to the lips the ear and then start bringing out the shape of the hair
IMG_20190227_144249.jpg

Now to the Interesting part Shading I start out with Hatching giving a base layer first like so
IMG_20190227_162125.jpg

The tricky part is Crosshatching this helps in detailing and giving an even tone and based on the fact I'm drawing a white guy the tone has to be even.....no much shadow and values to work with. I also shaded a bit of the hair so as to bring out his light skin tone.
IMG_20190227_171940.jpg

I then proceeded to shade more of the hair, the ear and the beards. This was where my black pen gave up I'm gonna miss her LOL
IMG_20190228_084910.jpg

I may probably get a new pen later in the day and finish it up but I kinda like it like that!
Thanks for viewing. Enjoy the rest of your day

@c-squared @c-cubed @monicia90 @veryspider

Sort:  

I feel sorry for him that he is missing half of his hair. Guys are very often touchy in regards to this topic :) It's a great and realistic portrait. And I'm sorry to hear that you couldn't finish it..

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely weekend!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Nice portrait, @ebene06 :) The shading is so nicely done and it is amazing that you can just freehand this picture without a grid or anything !

And yeah, sometimes unfinished works have their own charms :)

Thank you! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Amazing!!! Hopefully you can score a black pen like the one you lost today. Lol. I can’t believe this was done with a ball point pen. Great job!!
Hey @splatz come take care of this artist would ya?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes sir boss, Splattin’ away!!

Thank you! I appreciate

Hey @ebene06, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in your reply to their post. Call me out!!

Thank you for the nice art.

You are a great artist and I hope that you will find good and beautiful results here on Steem Blockchain!!!✌️
I would like suggesting you that I will have a contest on my account soon: on March, 3rd I will have my First Steem Birthday and I will make a contest where I will show all my portraits: there will be a lot of prizes and if you would like to partecipate with a drawing (also easier that this one) it could be a pleasure to me to join you!
It could be a good way to show your art all over Steem Blockchain😉👍
Let me know!!!
Thank you and Steem on!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @ebene06! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60985.22
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74