Steem is a time waster!

in #curation6 years ago

A few hours ago, I wanted to work on learning a new game engine to start messing with a few projects. Unfortunately, I had quite a bit of VP. I was actually almost at 100% VP. So I asked some friends in a chat room over at steem.chat I know if they knew any good posts.

As is usual, no one had anything.

Despite all sorts of people blasting their links everywhere and flooding every room on steem.chat and many discords, a strange irony is that if you ask, often people are silent. Maybe one idiot tells you to visit one of their latest posts, which often sucks, but that's about it. They can't be bothered to be like "You know what, I read this really awesome post earlier, lemme find you the link."

Sadly, this is a reality that I've seen time and time again.

When people first go into chat, they try to spam their link, then they often get in trouble for it and if they're smart, they don't do it again. If they're really smart, they realize it's spam, never try, but then discover the post promotion rooms, and try those. Sadly, the post promotion rooms on steem.chat are pretty much useless, because all the people posting in them are assholes that just drop their link and leave. If they scrolled up and checked out at least 2 other posts, and everyone who posted did that, then it would work out beautifully.

But they rarely try to promo anyone else's posts.

I wish they had shared even one or two good or great posts. Granted, my upvote is tiny nowadays, but it would have saved me a lot of time looking for posts to upvote.

Hours later, my VP was finally below 90% and I was tired, so I ended up going to bed. I had managed to review a bit of the game engine but barely got anywhere on it.

If they had shared a few posts, I could have gotten a lot more done.

That's one of the worst things about this place. Frankly, it's a time suck. It takes WAY too much time to curate. Reviewing posts to determine how much of an upvote, if any, that they deserve, takes a hell of a lot of time. Sometimes I even get to the end of a long ass post only to realize it's 8 days old. FFS!

For the sake of all of our time, we have to develop curation tools and we have to start sharing the best posts that we find with friends, so we stop wasting all of our time curating.

When you find an amazing post, message your friends. Tell them that you found an awesome post and what it's about and ask them if it's okay to share it with them. And if someone asks if you've seen any good posts, take a look back through your feed or what you upvoted, and see if there's anything that you really liked that you think they might like.

We all waste way too much time curating. It's about time we started cutting back on it, by sharing the load among friends.

Don't_Waste_Time.JPG
"If you love life, Don't waste time" by Mehedi Hasan Shohag 12 March 2014 CC BY-SA 4.0 (source)

I actually got back up after almost falling asleep and ended up writing this. I had planned on working on learning to game engine when I got back up after not being able to sleep. Yet more wasted time.

Sort:  

I just read this post while I was searching for good posts, I totally agree with you. The biggest reason why I (and probably the most here on Steemit) don't upvote a lot of posts recently, is because it takes so much time and effort to find good posts that are really worth an upvote. Time that I don't always have unfortunately.

I think it's definitely a good idea if we just start to share (on a regular base) good posts that we find with our friends, it would save us all a lot of time and other people would have a chance to be seen.

You should check out c-squared.

https://discord.gg/B8JFmJ4

It's like a curation discord group.

They resteem the approved and upvoted posts to @c-squared as well.

Since following them, I've found it a bit easier to find posts to upvote. Still sometimes difficult, but not quite as much so.

Sounds like it's worth a try! Thanks

Hi Geek. Quite correct in what you say about time and curating. I just wish more people would do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87