OCD Curation - The Process and My Authoring System

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

I have been a curator for @acidyo's @OCD since the beginning and have very much enjoyed sharing worthy posts through this curation initiative. I enjoy sharing good fiction posts, artwork, and posts that generally make me think. I prioritise newer accounts and authors I have not curated before.

For those unaware of the process, the curators each submit one nomination daily - apart from Sundays. We use a Discord server for this purpose and drop our nomination into 'english-linkdrop'. A bot then moves that to 'english-curation', stripping out the name of the curator who dropped it. This is to remove the chance of curators playing favourites and only voting on certain curator's nominations.

Capture.PNG

We all get two votes to place on our favourites, obviously not our own nominations. The top ten then get featured in the daily curation post.

The second part of our curator duties involves taking it in turns to compile the daily curation posts. This can be a time intensive process but having gone through it quite a few times now, it gets easier each time.

We go through the votes and sort the nominations by number of votes and then by account age of authors - we used to go by view count but alas Steemit has seen fit to remove this feature.

Capture.PNG

I use Grammarly to save 'snippets', such as the footer I use in all of my posts. I have created a template for OCD posts with text placeholders where I need to fill in the details, and saved this to my Grammarly account.

Capture.PNG

'Pagepic' is a screen grab of the author's Steemit profile page, like this:

Capture.PNG

I go through the ordered list of curation posts and screen grab each author's profile page, naming them 1-10 as I go. I then upload each 'pagepic' to the post. Next I add each curator's name, then 'Link Text' - the title of the post - and the link to the post. I do this for all 10 featured posts. I then select a photo from each post, right click to 'inspect element' and copy that into 'Pic' at the bottom of each section. Finally I go through each post in turn, read them and create a blurb for the curated posts, a brief summary of what it is about and why it was chosen. I place each blurb into the 'description' placeholder.

Once I check the post to make sure it is in order I will post it on the @OCD account, then go through each curated post, upvote it by a certain percentage and leave a comment below their post like this:

Capture.PNG

@OCD also offers a resteem service: Steemians can leave the #ocd-resteem tag on their posts and 3 curators each select one post daily to resteem and drop their choice into the 'resteem-english' channel on the Discord server. It is then the author of the day's job to resteem these 3 posts, upvote them by a certain percentage, and then leave a comment like this below each one:

Capture.PNG

This entire process takes me just over an hour now that I have my system in place. The more time consuming aspect is reading through each post to create a blurb for them. I do however enjoy this as I get to read many posts that might not otherwise have caught my eye. I get to discover up and coming new Steemians to follow and support.

I very much enjoy my job as an OCD curator, helping to support newer Steemians and sharing their work. The curation team is a close bunch and I am really happy to be a part of it.


Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

Thanks for this post. It's nice to get a behind-the-scenes look at the process. I so appreciate OCD and other curation efforts that reward and bring more exposure to quality content. Steemit sure needs it, and it makes this platform a better place to be! #gratitude 💖

Hello. I an @yasu24. Ocd japanese curator. I resteemed this post. I thought that it might be good to have such an article in Japanese.

it felt like i was looking into a mirror :D

Thank you for sharing the process :D
This takes more time than I thought, considering how often the posts are made :)
A couple of questions:
Is the tag ocdresteem or ocd-resteem ? As it used to be the latter :)
And secondly: can posts created on Sunday still get curated?

Ah, yes #OCDresteem is the right tag.

And yup, so long as there's at least 1 day left before post pays out it can be included.

Thank you :D
Lucky for me that I saw your post ^^

Hey just want to let you know, from what I've checked only #ocd-resteem posts got votes. While #ocdresteem is kind of empty.

There is a lot of work that goes into your work for OCD and I appreciate that you shared this because I better understand now. It's awesome that your group supports smaller accounts and tries to get them more exposure. It really does help a lot. And thanks for adding one of my posts to your daily post the other day :)
Ivy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95