An apology to my vote trailers for two accidental upvotes on this account :(

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

I want to apologize to everyone who signed up to follow the @humanbot vote trail on Steemauto.com with the understanding I would only be upvoting posts that received the Badge of Originality as Human Certified Original Works. Over the last two days I have accidentally upvoted a meme post which was certainly not original nor creative with this account; and a comment on a contest nomination post. In both cases I thought I was logged in as my @carlgnash account. Unfortunately removing the upvote does not seem to stop the incoming trailing votes.

I will be much more careful in the future and I am truly sorry for this abuse of your trust. It was unintentional, but that is really no excuse. It will not happen again.

Cheers - Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash
(@carlgnash)

Sort:  

Good man, I'm sure all is forgiven (unnoticed) already 😊

Honesty is the best policy!

Removing votes is goofy though, you don't get the vote power back, instead it gets burned. I sometimes got mixed up on esteem with the level of my vote, and I would try to cancel the vote and put less percentage. Well in the end I am just wasting more voting power.

Cheers Carl!

Yeah I was aware of that aspect, but I was kind of hoping against hope that if I removed the upvote maybe the trailing votes wouldn't come in. But they did. I figured better to address it openly and honestly than hope people didn't notice. I know I would be more than a little upset myself if I signed up to follow a vote trail that promised to only reward truly original creative posts, and I found out my vote had gone to boost a comment in a contest nomination post. Oops. Mea culpa.

This happens to me as well Carl, especially when I go to comment on something as myself and then it posts from the Team Australia account. Whoops.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.50
ETH 2910.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59