You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Thoughts On Manual Curation

in #curation6 years ago

I manually curate everything for Ladies of Steemit but have recently started a curation trail FOR us. It's an experiment to see what greater impact we can have on those we curate. I spend about an hour 3x weekly curating for LoS (currently) and that can result in up to ten posts that receive attention.

Day-of curation is different, though. As I focus on authors first from the standpoint of a theme or subject-matter, I'm typically going through whole profile to see consistency, quality, engagement with others, and then determining whether I can showcase them on account of having a quality post still within payout period. That sometimes takes up to three hours every Wednesday. 😅

Not everyone has that kind of time and I respect that! But, manual curation is (in my opinion) one of the most important thing we can do to improve the quality of the platform and keep new talented authors from getting discouraged.

The other way is through The Classroom where we help people learn how to write curate-able posts. 😂💓

Sort:  

Hi Amelia... I've been loving your posts since you came on board and didn't realise you were behind @ladiesofsteemit until right now. Could we chat about The Classroom and your other efforts? I was literally going to start a similar concept on Discord but keep getting distracted by other things. I'm a curie curator and would love to help out. I'm not a lady, but I am super nice...

@ameliabartlett, he's super nice. I can vouch for that. ;)

Awww, thanks Katrina!

Hi there! Happy to come say hi and see what you're up to. 😁

Amelia, you're a force of nature! I love Ladies of Steemit. Such an important and inspiring initiative! These are some great tips to keep in mind. So much work! lol! But I agree, manual curation is a huge boon to the platform as a whole, and we need to support new talent in a big way. So glad to represent in the Classroom with you, my Steem-sister!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70568.35
ETH 3813.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50