You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Qualifying for High Value Votes: How to Provide Evidence YOU ARE YOU and YOUR MUSIC is YOURS

in #curation6 years ago

I have recorded a lot of music for myself over the years. I never share my music because I am very self conscious about it. Steemit is the first venue in which I have ever shared my music. I therefore have no external sources to validate my music. But I guess I am the exception to the rule. Hopefully it will be apparent that my music is mine by the unique style, but I suppose some suspicion is a natural side of effect of me being an extreme introvert yet a serious musician at the same time. I really did not think about it until a read this post.

Sort:  

Super you publish your work through the Steem blockchain. You can establish your identity by posting video material including some indication it is a recent video and you included matching eg a photo you use in your Steemit profile. Include in that video also the music you may also post as an audio file, and this shows to some good extend that you are you and the music is what you have in your hands.

Good point. The only problem is I did not want to show my face. I'll have to think about that one. Thanks for the advice! I have done an open mic video without showing my face. Maybe I can do something a little different along the same lines. Thanks again!

I somehow understand you dont want to show your face, but that will make it SUPER HARD for other to really believe you. Since what you can do, and many actually do, is rip some music from YouTube, and post it to DSound/DTube and try and get votes; And especially since DTube and DSound do not have any verification policy, and they give very good upvotes to nice sounding music, more and more users are practising this, ie illegally using other artists music and claim it is theirs. I do look at identity and original music, and when I dont get a warm feeling, I'll not give any votes. And I will probably not be the only one :) But that said, you may not require my vote to get (some) rewards on your publications :)

True. It is really unfortunate. Oh well, I am having fun anyway. A few people have listened to my music which is more than in the past. I will just keep posting anyway. No one will ever find the music posted elsewhere because I only post it here, so there should not be a problem. It should still be fun and that's what matters. Thanks for all of the advice.

In my video I posted for open mic, I show my chin area, I could maybe do something like that. Just brainstorming. Thanks again!

Yeh cool, no worries. And yeh, I really like to believe you when you say your music is your music, and your posts to Steem is yours, but yeh, everybody can say that :) Anyway, I think you know what I mean.

For vocal songs, the voice itself may be a way to kinda get a warm feeling for original, when voices are constantly the same form post to post, and maybe adding some marker to recent recording, like for openmic they ask to state the week number and openmic.

For electronic productions without vocals, it becomes really really hard though.

Not sure if a chin allows matching identities :)

Just curious. If someone shows their face in a video, they could just post a picture to match it. Both could be stolen from another source. It seems to me that the only way to be sure about someones work is to do a thorough search online. Thoughts? Sorry to take all of your time.

And yes, I agree, I think the vocals, demeanor, consistent style, body motions, playing technique, etc will start to validate my work over time. Especially since I plan to enter openmic each week, which as you say, has the required spoken words at the beginning of each video to validate that the video was made specifically for steemit openmic.

Image search is quickly done, We have tools like Google image search. Not 100% of course, but will detect quite a lot.

Openmic will help.

For the curators on this platform, anything that requires more than a couple of minutes work, will not be done, I actually have to let a lot of track postings go unresearched and not voted because it takes too much time to figure out if everything is solid. Can you imagine, already today we have 100+ maybe even 200+ new tracks posted and shared, and when I need to check all these, it takes me a day to do so. Plus, I have no instant view on what I already checked in Steemit, so next time I have to redo it again. Of ourse some users I remember, but many I dont since I see so many. The whole UI is not build to handle all of this in a good way, while also DTube and DSound dont even have a TOS stating that illegal uploads are not allowed. They also dont do any ID check. Since ID checks could be done by some independent verification company keeping your identity secret, but do a check based on eg you ID card, driving license. A common method by car rental companies and even the crypto exchanges when you want to transfer larger amount of funds to some other wallet, or to fiat.

Right on. Summary: "Huge problem, hard to solve, you are doing your best."

Glad you are trying to battle this problem. I hope I can help someday. Thanks for giving back and thanks for the responses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62847.73
ETH 3173.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80