How To Maximize Your Comment Curation Rewards With $rewarding

in #curation5 years ago (edited)

270fze3jl8.png

Image Source

After Hard Fork 20, a change was made in regard to what happens to the curation rewards when a voter votes within the reverse auction period after a post or a comment has been published. (In case you don't know, the reverse auction period was 0 to 30 minutes after a post was published. Now it is 0 to 15 minutes. There was and still is a penalty for early upvoting the percentage of which depends linearly on the timing of your upvote.)

Now, the rule change that I'm talking about is that the rewards you lose no longer go the author but back to the reward pool. Before Hard Fork 20 last October, I never cared about how new a post or comment was when I upvoted it because losing part of my curation rewards meant giving the lost portion to the author, which I was fully ok with because rewarding them was the reason for upvoting them in the first place.

But now I'm loathe to have my curation rewards to go completely to waste. I have noticed that many of the users that I interact with regularly feel the same. You can stick around and time your upvotes to maximize your rewards or you can make a mental note to come back after a while and upvote your interlocutor's comments in a batch. The latter method seems to employed by @tarazkp. But doing so is sub-optimal because it introduces an unnecessary cognitive load. And you might often forget to do so, which is wasteful because the reward system is all about monetizing attention. In my opinion, if a conversation is worth having and putting some thought into, then it should be worth upvoting, too.

Fortunately, there is a solution to the dilemma. Months ago, @holger80 implemented @rewarding, a bot that you can give your posting authority using SteemConnect that you can direct with a simple command specifying vote weight and vote timing in a comment to a post or comment you want to give a delayed upvote to. See this post by @holger80 for instructions as to how to use the bot.

Another thing I'd like to remind some people of who autovote me is that it would be a good idea to check the timing of your autovotes. Auto-upvoting much later than 15 minutes after I publish a post is wasteful in terms of your curation rewards because curation rewards depend on the order in which the upvotes arrive. For optimal results, you should time your upvote between 11 and 15 minutes. Timing it after 15 minutes is a straightforward mistake because there is no penalty for early upvotes after 15 minutes but it will cause you to lose out on curation rewards because most users will vote before you do. Timing it slightly before 15 minutes may be a good idea many of my posts get a lot of upvotes after 10 minutes.

Hope this helps.

Sort:  

Great advice. I've seen you using that command and I guess it does make sense to max yr comment curation rewards too. Hadn't really thought about it fr comments.

I guess for most it doesn't make any difference whether you vote at 15 or 50 mins as most comments only get one vote!

Posted using Partiko Android

For most comments yes, but the problem with comments is you often forget to vote in the first place because you will not want to vote immediately and you forget to come bact to vote.
$rewarding 20% 15 min

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice post! Very useful!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the resteem.
$rewarding 40% 15 min

Posted using Partiko Android

Okay! I wish you could translate that into my language too!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi markku. I agree after 15 minutes it is a waste, but that is if you are only looking for curation rewards. If it is about supporting the author then there should be no thought of not voting. The posts that you put ocdb on have massive returns and timings are crucial.

Of course. I didn't mean to say that you should not upvote any comment or post after 15 minutes. What I was talking about in that particular paragraph was the timing of auto-upvotes. That is very easy to get right which is what I'm giving my followers advice on here.

I get that lol and no one would say don't vote. I have done what taraz does and do them in batches later on if I have the voting power.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @markkujantunen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.806 which ranks you at #4758 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 25 places in the last three days (old rank 4783).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 203 contributions, your post is ranked at #82.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85