You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation Component

in #curation6 years ago

It will soon be a year that I have been a member of the Steemit community. Proud to say that my only bot is Gina. She of course doesn’t vote, but is informative. It has taken a long time to reach this level, having hit trending once in a year.
Which is fine by me, because most of trending has turned into trash.
Agree with you completely regarding good content, and have turned into a shitposter, mainly for the reasons you have sited. Occasionally, I will throw something decent up, just to float the idea that there might be someone out there paying attention.
I enjoy reading good content, not a novel mind you,as I rarely have time to sit down and devote the time required to invest in a long term read. However, there are very good content producers that I read on a regular basis. Even though I may read and comment it does not seem to be a 2 way street. Some have been here so long, and are so self involved in their own material they rarely upvote back. Choosing instead to stay within their known associates for commentary.
One of my favorite things to do is take a lazy day and really run through and select posters I have never read before and find out what works for them.
Bots may be easier, and as I watch new people fly past my reputation score to higher scores it really irritates me because most have purchased their scores while I prefer the organic method of reading and getting to know good Steemers. I hope your idea takes on a life of its own, with even a few participants a lot more visibility for other writers could go a long way.

Your thoughts and words are greatly appreciated, and I am grateful someone out there is paying attention. 🐓🐓

Sort:  

I hit this with as much of an upvote as I have, to move it higher in the comment stack. You've hit several points that I'd like for people to consider, one of them being: "Bots may be easier, and as I watch new people fly past my reputation score to higher scores it really irritates me because most have purchased their scores while I prefer the organic method of reading and getting to know good Steemers." This is an excellent articulation of your perspective, and I hope some of the larger accounts are listening. If folks want to use bots, fine. But there really IS still a contingent here that is here for the people, and the community. We need a voice, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88