Why Did @neal.leo Downvote You?

in #curation5 years ago

If you are reading this post, you probably received a downvote from @neal.leo. I commend you for taking the time to read this instead of just ranting at how the world is unfair.

Step One: Assess the situation.

You are still alive. The world is still spinning through the vast emptiness of space. OK, don't dwell on that last part.

What has happened is that your LEO rewards for your post are now less than they were, with the difference being distributed to the general rewards pool. We will all carry on.

If you were counting on these rewards to buy food, then you have ignored the first rule of investing: only invest what you can afford to lose. If you can't handle the vagaries of outrageous fortune, then you shouldn't be in this situation.

Step Two: Why did I downvote your post?

Because I did not think it was investing related.

I have a stricter sense of how on-topic posts should be than many. And that's OK. We can each do with our stake what we like.

Here are a few examples of types of posts I will and won't downvote:

A news post about a company? Downvote

A news post about a company and how that will effect its forward earnings and share price? Upvote

A post about how you made 14 PAL coins? Downvote

A post about how you made 14 PAL coins, how that affects your IRR, and your plans for investing more or less in the future? Upvote

A post about your actifit progress? Downvote + appeal to the mods for a mute

This is not an inclusive or exhaustive list. I present it only to give you an idea of the kind of internal guidelines I follow.

Step Three: Why do I downvote LEO posts in general?

To protect the value of LEO.

My entire adult life has involved investing in various ways. It is very important to me. And so I take the content posted to #steemleo seriously. I do not want to see the value of LEO reduced by off-topic posts and spam. The value of LEO is derived from the attention paid by the #steemleo audience. If that attention is devalued through low quality content, then every holder of LEO is harmed.

Step Four: Realize it is only LEO

@neal.leo does not hold any STEEM Power beyond what is needed to do normal operations. Your STEEM, SBD, and other SCOT rewards are not affected by my downvote.

Step Five: Carry on.

One downvote is not the end of the world (see step one). I hope you come back and post to #steemleo with on-topic content. I am not here to hold grudges, my downvote is merely one man's opinion on one piece of content.

What's Next?

I imagine this document will grow over time as different issues emerge. If you feel the need to downvote me in retaliation, I understand. I don't agree, but I understand.

Keep Calm and LEO On!

Sort:  

My bad for using #steemleo without understanding what it is all about. Going to remove it now.
It's worth adding that info to your post.

Dear @neal.leo, @arslan786

It's definetly a wise thing to publish a post explaining your actions to others. That's cool and I respect that.

However starting your publication with sentence "I commend you for taking the time to read this instead of just ranting at how the world is unfair" shows unfortunatelly two things:

a)
Your assumption that you're superior towards anyone downvoted is very strong and it doesnt create healthy enviromnent

b)
Explaining reasons for downvoting anyone should be a norm.

However I strongly believe that before you downvote anyone, you should at least give a warning and explaining to users that what they did is wrong.And adding them to your own database/blacklist so next time you can assume that they were informed and they are aware.

Right now some witnesses and few powerful stakeholders on Steemit and some of new tribes (Palnet, steemleo etc) are working against rest of the community.

Our common goal should be to bring more users to Steemit. Not to create hostile environment and conflicts punishing some of current users and making them feel like they are being targeted. Without giving them any notice. And please do not fool yourself, that people will suck is up and will stay on Steemit either way. I've seen number of people who decided to quit Steemit after being downvoted without any reason.

Reality is that downvoted and confused people will simply stop using SteemLEO faster than you can replace them. So please, try to rethink your strategy.

Yours
Piotr

Yeah I agree.
Some of my friends also quit steemit due to flag.
I do think that flagging is good for spammers but when a whale or bot do this to a minnow, he will quit. So flagging is negative of any platform and we shouldn't promote that.

Reality is that downvoted and confused people will simply stop using SteemLEO faster than you can replace them. So please, try to rethink your strategy.

If they are posting off-topic material they should stop using LEO. That's the entire point.

Dear @nealmcspadden

If they are posting off-topic material they should stop using LEO. That's the entire point.

I believe you didn't get my "entire point".

And entire point is not to lose part of userbase. It's easier to educate people, give them warnings and build awareness.

Focusing only on downvoting will do no good. It will make people confused, upset and perhaps frustrated. And it's not a rocket science that happy customer will tell 1-2 people about your project. Unhappy will share his experience with many.

Guys, you're dealing with real humans. Those users are the biggest asset SteemLeo has. And it seem that so called "whales" with large stakes do not really understand that and are enforcing rules in the worst possible way - by downvote.

Not by actually putting any effort to comunicate with user. This approach will not get anyone far. It's so sad that Steemit is a social media platform and so many people do not understand basics of social media.

Cheers
Piotr

This is much needed for controling steemleo tag abuse.

Congratulations @neal.leo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I don't often post investment related information, so even though I staked leo (and it'd be nice to use the tag) I would only use it when it's appropriate. Investors probably don't need to see my children licking ice cream.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @neal.leo

You've just downvoted this:

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@blockchainstudio/nitrous-beneficiary-info-tag-order-fix

As you may know LEO also uses Nitrous which had the bug that I fix. You should appreciate my work, not downvoting. I appreciate if you cancel your downvote.

Even the official account @steem.leo upvoted this post.

I'm helping steem community so many things including https://economicstudio.github.io/vp/?a=neal.leo&t=LEO
and Nitrous, steem, busy, @scotauto

ps. It seems your main account is @nealmcspadden and I guess we had this miscommunication before too :)

Yes, you do good work. It's just not investing related. So I upvoted your post with my main STEEM account and downvoted for LEO.

people may have different opinion, but this kind of dev work is allowed in other communities and you're not a representative of LEO right? So it's you freedom but I don't like your idea.

You're making dead PoB more dead.

Unless it's officially prohibited from your community, if you don't remove your downvote, you are probably doing something wrong.

Technically it's also related to investment. due to tag order problem people may not want to use nitrous/scot, worth of tokens will be going down.

Have you ever thought about why steem price is like this even though there are many seemingly active scot communities?

If it's not well operated, people don't buy it.

and I FIXED THE IMPORTANT BUG! for communities. you know how much devs of like me can get for the time that I used? It's okay not to appreciate but don't use downvote in the wrong place.

Since sort of last resort of PoB, Utopian (if you know this) will end by the end of this month, you may not even see my posts that often anymore anyway.

ps. I'll remove my downvote if you remove your downvote.

You're making dead PoB more dead.

This is a dumb argument. The process of deciding whether a piece of content is on-topic or off-topic is the definition of Proof of Brain.

Unless it's officially prohibited from your community, if you don't remove your downvote, you are probably doing something wrong.

Welcome to decentralized freedom.

Technically it's also related to investment. due to tag order problem people may not want to use nitrous/scot, worth of tokens will be going down.

If you had a portion of your post that detailed the investment ramifications of the changes to the code, then yes it would be on-topic. See Step Two:

A news post about a company? Downvote
A news post about a company and how that will effect its forward earnings and share price? Upvote

beneficiary info wan't shown before, which is investment related right or not?

you expected to receive something but received less, then you may feel deceived.

In any sense, my previous post is also related to investment.

I'm a very logical person, unless it's a mistake, I also care which tags should be included.

BENEFICIARY IS INVESTMENT INFO you should admit that.

It's still your freedom to downvote, but care about contents and people. You're losing more of your investment otherwise.

People may not like LEO anymore if there are too many unjustified downvotes.

A friendly comment as a warning with almost the same text first would be much better than going straight to a downvote. Yes, I will live.
You are going to loose supporters by doing this. Like myself. Cheers

P.S. I consider the photo contest I run as a big investment. Both for the contest participants and myself as I am not simply giving STEEM or SBD but SBIs instead. Which, long terms is good for both the users and the platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75