You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Am Going To Spend More Time Curating Quality "Introduce Yourself" Posts

in #curation6 years ago

When the Resource Credits came into play, many were saying, "These new members will NEVER be able to do anything." I wrote a post not long after saying it's not all up to Steemit Inc and these witnesses. There are thousands of us here. All we have to do is push the button (vote). That first post will help get them started, if we push the button. That's all it takes, problem solved.

I try to get to one per day. I don't always make it, but I try, and it's more than I was doing before. We're not all going to agree on which posts are the best but if everyone tried to shoot for one noob post per day, that would help a lot of people get started.

Also, it seems many people quit. My feed has been quiet. Some fresh new faces and new stuff to look at is better than ghost town.

Have a good day.

Sort:  

That's super cool that you try to reach out to one new person a day. That's a great goal. I love your approach of the community supporting these new users when they first start out by delegating them a little steem. Maybe i'll have to do the same for a few people. :)

Delegating is helpful but I won't be taking that road. If I passed some SP around, I then have to constantly monitor progress. What do I do with the delegation if the new member doesn't post for five days? Do I assume they're not coming back? The delegation takes five days to be removed so what happens if I cancel it, then they return after ten days with a post? I'd have to first see consistency and want to be able to do more of a background check before I ever delegate. I could easily drop 50SP on 50 promising new members but to me, that's much like paying someone to come in for a job interview.

It's not a bad idea, it's helpful; but delegating is something I personally won't have time to follow up on.

Brilliant analogy with the job interview thing. I think if it didn't take so long for SP to return - i'd be more open to trying that a bit more often. Like you said - you've gotta keep an eye on whether your delegation is being put to good use. All good points here.

Ps... loved your "pick one person a day" approach. Found someone already today. I don't speak a lick of spanish - but we are a both flute players and so I directed him to the spanish Open Mic posts. Hopefully that helps him get plugged in with the music community here. Anyway, just wanted to say thanks for the extra dose of motivation on this subject.

Thanks for everything you do for this place. That's a long list.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83