You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curation - Finding that Undervalued Content

in #curation5 years ago

@slobberchops, I really appreciate the feature! Not going to lie, it feels damn good to hear my content is worth curating, but rewards aside, engagement and encouragement like this is definitely enough to keep me personally invested in this platform (and not just with the SP I traded some Eth for ha).

Also, definitely will be checking out that @curie tool you used to find my post in the first place. One of my objectives as part of my STEEM experience is to curate/support creatives and content creators, in particular other photographers.

Thank you for the shout out!

Sort:  

engagement and encouragement like this is definitely enough to keep me personally invested in this platform

This is what I like to hear! While some people were used to their old strategies in #oldsteem, I believe those who step up their content game will have a much better chance to get noticed now while the active stake is looking for worthy content more than ever. All this while the price is going under the radar and without the influx of bigger audience who've yet to realize what's taking place here. Now might be the golden season for creators to earn a decent amount of STEEM which will be much harder to earn in the future once there are more users competing over the rewardpool.

Keep doing what you're doing, you're off to a good start :)

You know it's hard to find people who can write effectively, and I see you have your own blog.

Can I ask, what drew you to Steemit? I tend to be a little blinkered being somewhat committed to draw the token out of the earth and propel the coin up the crypto carts so don't see the perception from an outsiders point of view.

I get the idea that it has a bad reputation and that there is a stigma that there are too many rules. While this is true, you just need to understand that it is a blogging platform. If you do just that, with your content, there will never be a problem.

Too many have tried to scam, pillage, rape the reward pool as as it is a monitory property we are all very protective about it.

There's nothing more I would like all of us to do than tell all out friends to try this out, without the proviso, 'there's money to be made'. I have said it before, but McDonalds burger flipping makes more than here.

I can see your post has now got some attention, and that's wonderful as I feel I have done my job and raised your profile.

However, don't expect this on every post (from the community). It takes time, commitment to create a following. I will add your to my @chops.support and keep an eye on your travel posts.

You seem to know about the tribes and @travelfeed, but don't forget @steemitworldmap, and their tagging website where you can pin your location, here

Great question, and as someone in the CX/UX world, one I for sure appreciate! 🤔

TL;DR - The internet is noisy AF, and I wanted to try out a new way to share my content, whether it's brand new stuff or repurposing of my already existing body of work. The rewards seemed like a cool bonus if they happen— I was more interested in testing out a new community and platform.

Less short backstory -

I'm a noob. To all of this. A friend turned me on to Bitwage a while back, but I only recently signed up. While waiting for my first Salary (just a portion!) > Bitwage > Coinbase transfer to go through so that I'd have to Eth and Bitcoin to play with (or just HODL), I fell down a rabbit hole allll about earning crypto. Realizing mining wasn't going to be a thing I could possibly do, and day trading doesn't interest me, I'm pretty sure I just searched that: "How to earn cryptocurrency without mining"

Blogging via STEEM showed up as an option not too deep into my search, which, being in the social media and content marketing world (day job!), piqued my curiosity. As you might imagine, shillery abounds, and it wasn't until I read this article that I became convinced that this is a real and valuable platform. This despite, as I'd find later on in my search, the dip in STEEM value since the time when @kadavy wrote that post.

Still, I found the concept super interesting. The concept of getting compensated for the valuable, interesting, and compelling original content you put out without having to crack the magic monetization code or be on assignment? Absurd!

I checked out the posts under new and trending, and between the cookie-cutter prompt posts and the expected set of ... LQ content you'll see on any platform that runs on user contributions, I saw original, HQ content supported by dedicated, meaningful tribes. Then I turned to the #travel and #photography tags and I was intrigued, immediately recognizing Steem (especially the individual tribes and curation efforts) as a way for content creators to amplify their content and simultaneously be a part of/build a community that everyone has a stake in— way more valuable than screaming into the void that is the mainstream social media universe.

Yes, the wait to get signed up (I did not know about steem ninja at the time) was an odd place of friction, especially as someone who basically just stumbled upon STEEM. But hey, I wasn't in any rush.

And that's that, I guess. Not so short, but I hope that answers your Q! 😅

David Kadavy doesn't seem too active anymore, and he seems to be one of these 'make money' kind of people who used to be around but have slipped out now, as the token has reached 17c.

I would never advocate Steemit as a money making place, but in your case.. you already run your own blog so cross-posting is a very good idea.

The tribes are relatively new, but it seems you already discovered them and the use of tags, which is also great.

Hope you settle in, just don't expect too much. Its very easy to get disheartened and think, 'why are they getting more than me'.

I wrote these some time ago, but most of the content is still relevant. The might help you some.

Don't vote them, as they paid out months ago!

https://steemit.com/steem/@slobberchops/some-newbie-tips-for-well-newbies
https://steemit.com/steem/@slobberchops/some-more-newbie-tips-for-well-newbies

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68465.88
ETH 3766.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66