Padding Nature Ramble - May 5

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

Spring is here! I can't wait to get out on the water but until then I've collected up this week's best posts to feed my addiction. Grab a coffee and enjoy a little outdoor time!

Onward to today’s rambling

THE CANADIAN ROCKIES - HEAVEN ON EARTH 🌎

When @jessicaoutside and her husband, Ben, suddenly moved to Canada they never looked back. The Canadian Rockies are beautiful and another one of my dream kayak trip locations. @jessicaoutside shares some fantastic shots and a few tips for her favourite locations. The main one being: Get there early!

Common Mistakes New Campers Make (Part 4)

@advanticle has written an excellent series to help new campers' enjoy their experience. Going out unprepared makes for a miserable trip. It's obvious that @advanticle has some serious experience camping which makes his advice valuable. If you're planning a trip don't miss this series.

20,000 Sounds Under the Sea

I've spent some time thinking about our waterways and what affects them. Until I read this post by @sir-lionel I had never considered acoustic pollution. It makes sense when you think about it. Consider the marine life that uses sound for location and communication. Thanks for bringing this to our attention @sir-lionel.

The Great Monarch Butterfly Migration

Monarch Butterflies are plentiful in Canada so I'd never really thought about their habits until I woke one morning to find a tree outside our trailer, on Lake Erie, just dripping with them. @kansuze has written a post which beautifully describes the Monarch migration and how we've been able to track them.

A Beautiful Disaster | Life & Photography

@fotografia has shared some amazing eye candy which shows us how the earth bounces back better and stronger after a natural disaster.

Birding in Kenya. Starlings!

Starlings in East Africa are far more beautiful than the ones introduced to North America by the Europeans many generations ago. @timspawls has taken some amazing pictures showcasing the striking features of these "exotic" birds.

ExploreTraveler Presents - Alaska Marine Highway Adventure

If you've ever dreamed of taking a trip on the Alaska Marine Highway @exploretraveler's post will make you want to all the more! I really enjoyed reading this post and the photos are awesome!

Until next time friends...

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Don’t forget, Pimp Your Post Thursday takes place every Thursday at 11am and 7:00pm EST. Come and join the fun.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Coffee Hour

Now streamed live on the Steem Star Network

.

.

.

.

.

Sort:  

Thanks for including our content in your feed @paddlingnature, you've done a nice job here with putting this selection together. I really enjoyed @kansuze article The Great Monarch Butterfly Migration

You're welcome and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Whenever I am in a need of nature posts, I always know I can find them at your place :) Thank you for another great collection. 💚

Thank you so much for including my post here @paddlingnature.

I can't wait to get on the water either. Bought my sportsman license 3 years.
Fishing in Lake Erie.Thank you for your post.

PERCH! LOL!! I used to love catching a bunch when they started to run and throwing them right on the bbq. YUM!!!

I like bass also not to mention pickerel my fave. My sister just bought on the channel in Turkey Point we will have a few parking spots for a little fishing boat. ;)

OH BOY! Lucky you. We used to have a trailer in Port Bruce. I sometimes miss it.....especially the water

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #128 (5/8/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17