You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Inbox Runneth Over -- Special Edition -- Announcements of Policy Changes

in #curation6 years ago

I have to agree with you, if the account grows, the vote gets bigger and everyone benefits. I'm going to add this account to my SteemAuto voter too.

I guess the low quality content stuff was not always like that from whoever these authors were, or they would not have got past @catweasel?

I do sometimes do some posts that I don't consider worthy, but I don't add them to the baggage-car -- post-promo area. I think everything I write is > 300 words.

Sort:  

I write a lot of things that never make it into the baggage-car. I have to be kind of like Caesar's wife, if you know what I mean.

In the beginning, before we acquired that priceless "wisdom of experience," people could join just by clicking on the server invite link and some people got in whose posts weren't that great. Most of them have moved on by now -- but some people who I know can do better work have started "taking it easy" on themselves. As I said, that's a real temptation when Steem is so down. But as @shadowspub wrote recently, this is the time to really step up .

I don't want to encourage less than the best on our group account -- either with rewards or by example. We try to have minimal rules in TSE ... but the ones we have just got stronger. (You know how it is. It would be great if people would just abide by the spirit of the law by themselves. But they don't always. And some may not fully understand the situation.)

We had one applicant recently who wanted to quibble with us over the use of the word "suggest" in our initial request that he upvote the group account if he joined. ("'Suggest' means, I don't have to, right?") Technically, yes. But that didn't bode well -- as you can imagine.

So, now, no one has to upvote the group account if he just wants to join and sit quietly with his thumb where your recently highlighted appliance can wash it for him. But if he wants votes from us, he needs to ante up.

While you're here ---> Thank you so much for all that you do. You're one of the exceptions that makes life better. You always go the extra mile and more. You're a real inspiration.

So, now, no one has to upvote the group account if he just wants to join and sit quietly with his thumb where your recently highlighted appliance can wash it for him. But if he wants votes from us, he needs to ante up.

I think that's fair enough. If they don't want to vote, they don't receive the vote. There's other places they can go if they don't like the rules.

While you're here ---> Thank you so much for all that you do. You're one of the exceptions that makes life better. You always go the extra mile and more. You're a real inspiration.

Thanks, but my head is expanding right now, I really don't want it to burst.

I should be back to writing soon, as I'm back from the highlands now. STEEM is approaching $2 again, so does that mean we get better quality again? We will have to see.

I frequently write comments that are over 300 words. This one, ^^^ for example.

Yes, I have noticed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88