Improving My Curation Strategy To Cover More Ground & Motivate More People

in #curation5 years ago (edited)


Following my own advice in my post about not tying your upvote value with your perceived worth, I'm going to focus on upvoting more people more often.

I need to spread out my voting power more efficiently, something I've always struggled with.

I tend to manually upvote with too much weight to try to pass along as much SP as I can to those who I follow most, or when Steemit's content feed displays something of high quality (gasp). I also have SteemAuto set up for 29 authors, which I leave running when my SP is reasonably charged. On top of that, I upvote almost every comment I get.

This saps up a ton of my voting power before I'm left trying to squeeze out support for others I have to manually hunt around for or visit. I tend to leave the newer creators hanging a bit, but not on purpose. What I've realized is that I should be prioritizing support for as many people as possible, versus as much quality support as I can for those who I normally gravitate toward.

While good intentioned, my prior approach shoots me in the foot because I tend to shut down on curating to let it recharge for the next round. I've typically passed on voting someone at 5%-10% because I don't want to insult them that I thought it wasn't worth more. I sort of put myself in my own penalty box to impede me from curating naturally.

This is a ball and chain I don't want anymore because I like giving new people encouragement and engagement. It's also good for growing and maintaining new relationships around here to continue my own development.

The only way I can see myself fixing it is to vote lighter so my voting power reaches further.

As someone who's struggled for a long time on Steemit until recently (thanks to a few selfless people who have helped me bump up a notch), I know how important any vote and comment can be when they're often hard to come by. It's rewarding to reach more like-minded people and have a dialogue sparked about a passion or belief, so I need to adjust to facilitate more of this.

...One key point here is that I'm not concerned with my curation kickback aside from one or two key curation targets I maintain, which I may need to drop. I also rarely self-vote these days. I'm concerned with having voting power to reach more people in the most meaningful way I can. I'm simply reminding myself that my SP shouldn't hold me back from that.

Thoughts? Similar struggles? Advice?

Thank you,
@steemmatt

If anyone catches this and notices a dip in their "usual" vote, it's nothing personal. Just trying to help more so we all benefit in the long run.

Sort:  

Similar struggles! It's hard to spread a 'tiny' vote - but the account value it comes from stays the same, despite the dollar value. This is why I believe we should ban all dollar references on all Steem front-ends. Let's talk STEEM! It would help educating people as well: a vote from a 500 SP account is a vote from a 500 SP account, no matter the dollar exchange rate.

I now more or less try to decide: how much time for curating do I have? Loads? Tiny upvotes for many Steemians. Just a few minutes? Bigger upvotes for fewer Steemians.

Anyway, do as you need to be the Steemian you want to be :-) People who don't appreciate a 0.01 upvote are probably not (yet) understanding the 'real' value of that upvote ;-)

Gave you a 100% upvote to disprove my comment

I sooo relate to this. When my voting power starts to get low, sometimes I’ll stop browsing and commenting because I feel like if I’m going to leave a comment telling someone I appreciated their work, it would be insulting not to vote, or to vote with a small percentage.

I honestly don’t think that’s true though, and it’s just a story I’ve built up in my head. Would I be offended if someone left a comment on my post and not a vote? No way! Engagement and votes are exciting for any creator, no matter what.

So to wrap up my comment, I think we are both probably just in our own heads about needing to drop big percentage votes for everyone all the time. Votes of any percentage or comment are actually very much appreciated by most creators.

I so emotionally wanted to give you 100% for your spot on reply. Baby steps! ...Great mind you got over there.

Good job!! Haha We can both work on this. 💪🏻

At the end of the day I'm just happy to be involved in a platform that rewards authors. It makes Reddit gold kind of a joke. I hope that more people see the value in what Steem provides and a migration from other social media takes hold. It's happened before with Myspace/Facebook/Twitter/Instagram and I'm sure it will happen again.

Glad you're one of the level headed people around here. That's a winning strategy. While we're opening up about our thoughts here, what on or out of earth is your avatar?

I myself also tend to focus perhaps too much on few people with heavy percentage, but I think it's fine to vote even with a small percentage – vote is a vote and should be taken with gratitude no matter what amount. If someone complains of a small percentage, well, then you can just not vote at all if it is bothering someone that much.

I'm pretty sure that the internet has wholeheartedly decided that gifs and memes beat votes and intelligent comments any day of the week. Honestly, I'm insulted you don't gif me more... it looks like you don't gif a crap.

S.O.S. - your gif link is broken.

Let me send the @partiko signal for this emergency! If I can't gif, like what's the point? 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Could you try to reply the same gif and see if it works? Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

How did you post the gif? It works on our side.

Posted using Partiko Android

I feel like I want to blame steemit for my lack of gif 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Disaster averted!!! Wow - this is supreme tech support!!

Yep, they're unrivaled and superior in every way.. I wouldn't and couldn't be here without them..

Posted using Partiko Android

Your comments as well as soyrosa and coruscate comments mirrored my thoughts exactly this week. I will do better now that I know better.

Nice to meet you and welcome to Steem. Glad this post resonated well. Steem is a wild west of sorts, so we're always learning and figuring things out as we go.

One heck of a son ya got there, so I'm sure the apple didn't fall too far from the tree. I may play my electronic drums later today for a post. I do have African/Tabla drum settings I jam on from time to time, but haven't recorded. I'll try to assemble something in that genre over time with some more practice.

The solution is to buy more Steem Power! :D

I have been manually voting for months now, and it's a dilemma I often face too!

Posted using Partiko Android

I've tried to honor my commitment to only earn my Steem, especially since I'm saving up to buy a car, truck and motorcycle to put a Steem license plate on. I've already put the Full Steem Ahead yacht on hold due to the bear market conditions. Your absolutely right, but it's been tough!

Keep on putting the man in manual voting. Salute.

You can live vicariously through my "steemit" license plate ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62280.19
ETH 2997.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08