Working Title (Curation Post)

in #curation5 years ago (edited)

Thank you to @bennettitalia for participating in my engagement contest last week- 10 SBI shares are on their way!

hippopotamus-95472_1280.jpg

Look at them,
The faded flowers of mourning,
The dirge leaving their lips,
The sigh of silence fading into noise,
A wail, a groan, the shuddering sorrow
Of knowing eternal loss.

To Live and Love by @warpedpoetic makes lovely use of rhetorical questions and juxtaposition to explore the problem that loss imposes on love.

Halloween has but one casanova
Frankenstein
many ladies do swoon

This spoken word piece by @prydefoltz is so fun, and funny! I love how she satirizes the romance that society finds in being frightened. Also, her reading is so full of sass and character.

the weaving of her life unravels
strand by strand
while she
struggles
to hold it together
just yesterday
she said she never felt better
in her lifetime

Untitled 1 by @sumayyahsaidso features one of my favorite words (unravel) and makes fantastic use of allusion. The emotion she creates is palpable.

On the couch, I shift my hands
as Francis tries to understand
these awful secrets spilling out
into the room with all the lamps

Ghost by @paintingangels is such a spooky piece, with a rhyme scheme that reminds me a bit of Edgar Allan Poe. A great way to welcome fall, for sure.

She opened her eyes to the cold, salty breeze of an early Sunday morning.

Laughter by @zoexantelamv is a beautiful piece that captures a moment in time. I love freewriters- for all that they capture in their brevity, for the many things that they manage to convey despite how short they are. Zoe created a fantastic example.


mspgif.gif




Graphics and pull quotes are sourced from their respective posts
Reflections are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

Congratulations to the winner! :) It's a great prize!

Thank you! I think SBI is the prize that keeps on giving ;)

Thanks for the mention! ♥

Thank you for writing good stuff! I love your poetry

Oh wow! I'm so flattered by the mention. So glad you liked my freewrite, I'll definitely keep doing them. All the other posts included here are great as well. Greetings!

Freewrites are so fun! I love the ones that capture a moment, and I've even seen some with a full on plot complete with climax. It's wild to me what good writers can do with so few words

I love your curations @sunravelme! These are wonderful posts, featuring some of my very favorite Steemit poets, and new faves I'm happy to be introduced to. Thank you, and thank you for the SBI shares :)

Thank you for the thoughtful comment on chrisroberts work! I'd love to see more people benefit from being featured!

Hi @sunravelme!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.381 which ranks you at #2220 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 2224).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 278 contributions, your post is ranked at #141.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86