You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation Conundrum

in #curation7 years ago (edited)

I manually curate, and haven't ever made a bot vote on this account.
I not only curate for good posts, but for good thoughtful comments.
Once you get away from the trending page, the comments are as scarce as the rewards.
The thing is, I don't make rewards by seeking out excellent minnows or voting on comments, which is fine, but I think it is part of the problem with how the curation rewards work.

  1. I want to vote for something when I see it, not try to remember to go back 1/2 hour later.
  2. It is nice to read, comment and learn something about the Author, but let's face it, I do get a bit jealous (It's my own choice) by those who just pick the obvious authors to gain the most rewards, and it seems as though that is compounding the problem.

I wish I had some solutions, but people are going to chase rewards, and I don't blame them a bit. ROI is a good thing and I know it is time for me to figure out how to use the site differently as well.

Sort:  

We could just ditch the trending and hot pages. Then people would have to sift through all the spam to get to the good stuff. That included those who want to game the system.

And keep the new posts page. Then we know where to find fresh content.

There is one other point that @scottsantens made: sometimes it takes more than a week for your post to be discovered. What if your post goes viral on the 8th day?

Most of those who have votes that matter at all are not sifting through anything. They setup their voting bots and make a few comments on their friend's posts.

So, basically, some people are treating, Steemit like a nepotism network, right?

Another question comes to mind then. How can one be objective about quality if they're voting on the work of a friend?

I'm not so sure that Steemit is looking to create that kind of reputation, but if enough people see that happening, they will see automated curation among a network of friends who are just passing the rewards between themselves.

I guess the word that comes to mind is "disappointment".

Thanks for clearing that up for me.

I want to vote for something when I see it, not try to remember to go back 1/2 hour later.

Exactly and this where the reverse auction perversely incentivises bot use.

I do get a bit jealous (It's my own choice) by those who just pick the obvious authors to gain the most rewards, and it seems as though that is compounding the problem.

It is easy to do that and also when you want to earn curation rewards using a bot you have to do it based on past success.

I wish I had some solutions, but people are going to chase rewards, and I don't blame them a bit.

Yes very true.

I wish I had some solutions, but people are going to chase rewards, and I don't blame them a bit.

True... and given that we're a decentralized structure, it strikes me as an open invitation to take a long hard look at structuring rewards as "tool" to guide how the site develops. In short "Put the carrots where you need the work to be done."

If course, that would require a lot of people to step OUTside their short term interests and instead look at big picture/long term benefits.

If course, that would require a lot of people to step OUTside their short term interests and instead look at big picture/long term benefits.

That is the hard part!

That's true

In short "Put the carrots where you need the work to be done."

^this.

Once you get away from the trending page, the comments are as scarce as the rewards.

I think this depends on your following a lot too, judging from what I've seen on some posts from people who joined my contest. There are some vibrant sub-communities here on Steemit.

I also get a couple of comments on every post I write, though ofcourse, it's hardly anything compared to Trending. That's mostly because posts on Trending simply get so many extra eyes on them, so it sparks a lot of discussion. I've noticed the same thing on most 'Steemit' tagged posts though. Mine never make anywhere near Trending/Hot rewards, but they get a huge amount of comments.

I want to vote for something when I see it, not try to remember to go back 1/2 hour later.

Yes! I try not to bother with timing too much and simply upvote when I read a post, but sometimes I catch myself thinking 'Hmm, maybe wait a minute or two...'. That's so wrong, because it takes away some visibility for the author. He/she needs all the votes he/she can get at the very start, when the post is still visible somewhere in someone's feed.

I also chase rewards sometimes, though most of the time, I try to be fair and upvote what I like. Either that, or upvote those people I appreciate here. Comments/posts alike.

Hello playfulfoodie, you do get excellent interaction on your posts, and because I look for comments to vote for I can attest that you are out there interacting in the community. I appreciate that.

Thank you @whatsup, that's a very kind thing of you to say :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69125.27
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61