Curie Comment Contest ( October 7th - October 14th, 2018)

in #curie6 years ago


Curie - Discovering exceptional content.png


  • In the spirit of Curie's commitment to building community and fostering engagement on the Steem blockchain, we are pleased to present a weekly comment contest administered from the @curie blog.
  • For those new to Curie, please follow @curie, and join us on Discord: https://discord.gg/jQtWbfj
  • Follow @curie's votes to support the authors. Please consider following our trail and voting for curated authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @curie is an available curation trail to follow.

Curie Comment Contest

Earn Steem by leaving good comments on posts upvoted by @curie!*

*Only posts which receive a @curie vote through Curie curator/reviewer operations are eligible for this comment contest. PLEASE NOTE the @curie account casts many upvotes which are not part of Curie curator/reviewer operations. See below for two methods to tell what posts have been upvoted by Curie through curator/reviewer operations:

  • Visit becquerel.io to see a record of the most recent posts upvoted through Curie curator/reviewer operations and leave thoughtful comments on them for your chance to win!
  • @curie also leaves an automated comment on all posts upvoted through Curie curator/reviewer operations, so alternatively you can visit the @curie blog comments to find eligible upvoted posts to comment on.

How do I sign up?

There is no need to sign up. Simply commenting on posting upvoted through Curie curator/reviewer operations makes you eligible for the Curie Comment Contest.

The contest week will run from Sunday 15:01 UTC through Sunday 15:00 UTC

Curie will use an algorithm that evaluates comments on both quantitative and qualitative metrics. This means that in addition to the number of Curie-upvoted posts that you comment on, the quality of your comments will also factor into the score. In addition we will look at other metrics designed to measure engagement with the authors that Curie upvotes.


THE EXACT ALGORITHM AND METRICS USED TO GENERATE THIS SCORE WILL NOT BE REVEALED TO HINDER ATTEMPTS TO GAME THE CONTEST

That being said, one of the most important metrics is simply the number of Curie-upvoted posts commented on during the contest week. For reference, here are the top 20 commenters by # of posts commented on for this contest week (you can tell by comparing this list to the actual placements below that there are definitely other factors that go in to the contest scoring).

Continued interaction with Curie upvoted authors beyond the initial post commented on is another factor. So remember to follow the authors and comment on their new posting as well to score the maximum number of points!


Win up to 15 Steem!


Curie Comment Contest winners will be announced in a weekly post. In addition to the prize payout structure outlined below, the weekly champion will receive an honorary role for the week in the Curie Discord server of "Comment Champion". Bragging rights!

1st place (Curie Comment Champion): 15 Steem 2nd place: 12 Steem 3rd place: 10 Steem 4th & 5th places: 8 Steem each 6th & 7th places: 5 Steem each 8th & 9th places: 3 Steem each Honorable Mentions (10th through 20th): 2 Steem each

Total weekly prize pool: 91 Steem/ 20 payout positions

Spam Comments will NOT be rewarded


The comment history of all winners will be manually reviewed for spam before any prizes are paid out. Short generic comments that could have been left without reading the post will not qualify for the Curie Comment Contest. Examples of spam comments include (but are not limited to): "Nice post"; "I like your post"; "Nice picture"; "Good song"; "Great story", etc.

EGREGIOUS SPAM COMMENTERS WILL BE REPORTED TO STEEMCLEANERS

A few words of advice on leaving good, thoughtful comments

- tell the post author what in specific you liked about the post, why you liked it and/or how it made you feel. If your comment is so generic that it could have been left without reading the post, it will not qualify for the Curie Comment Contest.

Weekly Winners!


For comments left during the contest week of October 7th - October 14th, 2018. PRIZE PAYOUTS WILL BE DELAYED UNTIL WEDNESDAY THIS WEEK

Comment Champion - 15 Steem prize! @delishtreats

Congrats @delishtreats you have been a regular presence in the comments for a while and it is great to see you work your way to the top!

2nd place: 12 Steem @audreybits


3rd place: 10 Steem @macoolette


4th & 5th places: 8 Steem each

@stef1 & @marblely

6th & 7th places: 5 Steem each

@janton & @fernando.lubezki

8th & 9th places: 3 Steem each

@steemflow & @scrawly

Honorable Mentions (10th through 20th): 2 Steem each

@minismallholding, @glenalbrethsen, @myskye,
@veryspider, @fitinfun, @naideth, @cubapl, @neymarth11, @drawmeaship, @puravidaville, @lynncoyle1

PRIZE PAYOUTS WILL BE DELAYED UNTIL WEDNESDAY THIS WEEK

Let the wild rumpus begin!


So what are you waiting for? Start reading those Curie-upvoted posts and leaving thoughtful comments already!
Sort:  

Comments are so under rated and seems to be getting scare. Those those quality posts with low earnings, comments are a source of motivation to let authors know that their posts are appreciated.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes I couldn't agree more!

Thank you so much curie! I was hoping to be placed 3rd again but a champion!? WOW! That made me speechless (and this doesn't happen that often, lol)

Congratulations everyone!

You?!? Speechless? I'm not buying it LOL

Hahaha, busted! :D

Hola @ delishtreats, te felicito por ese primer lugar, sé que te quedaste sin palabras, pero cuéntame, la emoción que sentiste al ganar este primer lugar, ¿fue de risa o de llanto? Un fuerte y cariñoso abrazo.

Congratulation @delishtreats the undispiluted queeny... @audreybits and @macoolette for getting into top3...

Congratulation to everyone who keep up engaging and keep the momentum going.....steem on👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @steemflow! I hope to see you climbing up this week. I'm busy with some appointments this week and will have to catch up, so no idea how this week will be for me..

Same here....@delishtreats we have festival going on and withdraw from all engagement and comment for this week

Posted using Partiko Android

Congrats champion!

Thank you Carl!

Thank you. Congratulations too to you. 😊

Thanks dear....way too far to catch you..

Posted using Partiko Android

You can do it... And don't worry. I will be really busy soon so I may falling behind this and the league sometime in November. You will have much better chance by then. 😊

Well, thank you, again, @curie. It's always good to be honorably mentioned. :) Congratulations to everyone in the Top 9—@delishtreats,@audreybits, @macoolette, @stef1, @marblely, @janton, @fernando.lubezki, @steemflow and @scrawly. A lot of you are familiar names from another league engagement contest I know. :)

And congratulations to my fellow honorable mentioned: @minismallholding, @myskye, @veryspider, @fitinfun, @naideth, @cubapl, @neymarth22, @drawmeaship, @puravidaville, and @lynncoyle1. Good job all. Probably time we started moving up into the Top 9. What do you say? :)

Onward and upward.

Congratulations too to you @grenalbrethsen!

Onward and upward.

I like that! And yes, you folks can move up just like I did for this week's round. I used to be in the honorable mentions only so I was really surprised to my name on the third spot. I am very sure you folks can do it to! 😊

There's a little bit of mystery to this one—some kind of formula or secret sauce beyond just the number of comments—a quality algorithm of some kind. So while I'm sure making more comments will help, that's not the only criteria. I'd like to move up, though, just like everyone else. We'll see. Always plenty to try to find and comment on. :)

The big difference that I notice when I was just an honorable mention compared to being on the third spot is the engagement from the authors. Before, not much (almost none) of the authors are replying to my comments except for plain "thank you" or something like that. For this last week, our conversation went further with back and forth more comprehensive replies. I think that is one thing that we need to learn how to encourage further replies to our comments.

I hope this tip will somehow help you and the others. 😊

So, get to at least third place in the curie contest if I want longer conversations and more comprehensive replies. Got it. :)

I agree. We all can do a better job of prolonging conversations. Of course, the other person were conversing with has to be willing and able to go on, too. Able used to mean time. Not it includes RCs. So, it's even more of an art to get people to continue.

I'm glad to see that you're getting more interaction. That's awesome.

I think the tip that we need to answer for ourselves is "what comment will make the author interested to reply?" So I try to end my comment with open-ended or plain question with the hope that they will answer. 😃

that sounds like marching orders! Onward and upward! Cheers!

Hey, @carlgnash.

Maybe they are. :) I'd settle for enthusiastic encouragement, though.

Ducks beat the Huskies! Now there's Cougars to deal with. I guess the Ducks' fate is in their own hands, just the way it should be. I just hope they're up to it. They should be. They know they can line up with the best of them. They just have to do it.

I'm just astounded I made it into the HMs! It's just flying visits some days, but it's certainly a good way to find new people to follow. Stalk the curie comments!

hey @minismallholding.

Seems like they're ready made for stalking. :) I've been trying to dedicate at least part of a day to them but it's a lot of reading sometimes—so, sifting through them and then figuring out something to say can be time consuming. Learn a lot of things, though, and there's plenty of talented people, so it's a worthwhile thing to do.

Thank you, Glenal... Congrats to you too!

Great job to you as well @glenalbrethsen :)

So, I haven't really been paying too much attention to who all is involved with the curie contest, but then I saw you were and wondered if you've been at it long. I've been off and on for a few weeks, I think, with some interruptions in between. There's also the c-squared/cubed contest and abh12345's engagement league. Since they all kind of reward the same thing (commenting) and overlap to a degree, I figured, might as well see what I can do with it all, since commenting along with posting is what I'm trying to do anyway. :)

Haha… I actually was just mentioned by total randomness. I was mentioned a few months ago and had no idea what it was, then again just yesterday, yet had forgotten about the contest. I just read posts like yours, and some others and comment because it’s interesting stuff. Sometimes those posts happen to hit trails and I will randomly be recognized for commenting. It’s a pretty neat surprise.

Well, okay then! That's probably the best way to do it, anyway. Read what you want to read, get some STEEM here and there. :) I've been trying to do it on purpose, and there's a lot of wading through things that I'm just not interested in. All good stuff I'm sure, I'm just not the right demographic for it. So, anyway, I applaud your method (or lack thereof). It's great. :)

Haha… you just made me laugh out loud Glen!! It’s a little over whelming when you hit a trail yourself and all of a sudden you have 30 comments to respond to. This happens to me because usually I’m at work and can’t respond right away so they accumulate quickly. Oh well, the woes of hitting a curie trail :) hah

I've never had 30 comments at once from a post I needed to respond to, so that would be awesome. But then I'm not at work when it happens, either. I do notice when curie hits there is an uptick in comments from folks that normally don't comment on my posts, though, which is nice. I'd just as soon they'd hang around for more, but then, I can't get to everyone's posts myself, so can't really expect it to happen on mine, right? Even with most of the day to do things on STEEM, there's only so much you can do. Unless you automate some of it, like upvoting, and so far, I'm not interested in that.

Yea, I’m not interested in automatic voting yet either. Don’t get me wrong, I love interacting on Steemit, which is probably why I have 30 comments to respond to. It usually happen when I’m away for a full day or so and come back to a bunch of responses to my comments and then some comments on a new post. I think the interaction is what makes this place so special. We are the community! I wish I could get to everything I want all the time, that would make me a superwoman. The cool thing is we pick and choose what we want to read and who we want to engage with and hopefully we have the time to get to everyone we want. I guess that’s when automatic voting comes in handy. So far I’m good sifting through everything manually if you will :)

Yeah you are an example of someone who is just an engaged presence on the Steem blockchain and you have good comment interactions with a lot of other quality presences here - doing that has actually made you pop up in the queries I run to determine the contest winners here, so you earn Steem without even actually trying to participate :) It is great though - ultimately it means you are already doing what we at Curie are trying to encourage - we want people to read and interact with the authors we upvote :) Cheers - Carl

Thanks for noticing @carlgnash! Keep up the good work, we all appreciate it :)

Is it necessary to have a Discord account to participate?

Nope. There is no sign up required either. This contest is based on activity on the Steem blockchain - you could win Steem without ever even knowing about this contest, actually. Just leaving thoughtful (non spam) comments in reply to Curie upvoted posts and authors makes you eligible for this contest :)

Thank you very much for your answer.

TYTYTYTY once again. Commenting on these posts is a really good use of time for me and I am learning a lot. Getting STEEM as a reward is such a great bonus and I will keep going :)

Awesome that is good to hear! I think the contest is starting to gain some steem - ultimately building up a reader base of active commenters is a wonderful thing for a curation effort! Thank you for lending your talents as a reader, commenter and generally nice human being with positive energy to the Curie curation effort :)

As always it was a pleasure to take part in the comment contest. My congratulation to all the winners, that is a real hard job to take a time and really read through the posts and then write a thoughtful comment. You all deserved it!!! Thank you @curie team for such contest that supporting Steemians!

Good stuff @curie. Super excited to see your contest contents. 😊
I can already feel the positive energy. This is really a good contest. 🙋

Waow whoohoo! It's always good to read posts that I won something XD.
                           
Thanks curie kekeke <3.

You are awesome @scrawly happy to see you here there and everywhere :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71239.75
ETH 3686.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75