One More Year, and ... I'm over the hill?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #curie8 years ago

Yeah, made some changes. No old man here by this day next year. 

After turning 39 and having a hand full of hopes and dreams and the other of empty promises and unfulfilled desires, I have come to a conclusion that it is time to shit or get off the pot. 

The past year has given me great happiness and great tragedy, both equally having positive and negative effects on me physically, mentally and emotionally. Some think that birthdays are just another day of the year. They are right, if they treat them as such. If you use your birthday as a time that you reflect on the past, find reason to correct thought processes as well as habits and results, you can get a great gift of knowledge... from yourself!

Some things that I have learned:

1. I like myself when I drink perhaps more than others do.

Yes, I have a big heart for the feelings and outcomes of others and abide by the NAP. But sometimes being under the influence of chemicals distorts the ability to get the message out in a way that is perceived by the audience the proper way. I have decided to go on a 6 month hiatus from alcohol and hit the gym again. 

2. If I don't treat my body better during tough times, I won't have one to treat me to life.

I have a child who adores me, and as I was using the elliptical for the 45th minute, I strongly felt that my body wasn't reacting the way that it used to. I need to make some changes if I want to get to where I was so that I can seek out more journeys. If I have failing health, my interactions with her will be limited, making me a bad father by default. If I am an absentee father because of poor decisions with my health and I die early, I'm still an absentee father based on poor decisions, making me less than what she deserves.

3. Savor each new day as a challenge, and celebrate your victories with positive rewards.

Each day should have at a minimum one or two goals. If you aren't driven by these goals, they are nothing more than monotonous tasks, and should be put in a separate "mandatory" catagory. If they aren't mandatory, think of them as useless hobbies. Inspire yourself, step outside of yourself and embrace something new and fresh. Read about a different philosophy, read about someone you disagree with, or, as I did today, hug an old person twice! (It was a great feeling and I know it made her day :))

Feel free to share some knowledge you may have about overcoming, hitting peaks and getting out of valleys using personal timestamps and re-evaluation days, birthdays or not, down below.

Sort:  

Hey @tee-em I did the same thing as you when I turned 50. Gave up the booze and sugar and hit the gym really hard.
I need to be there to look after my wife (without adult supervision she would get into all sorts of mischief) .
I've not looked back. i feel so much better, so much more alive, so much more positive about the future.
So on the days when it's hard, just remember, it's better to do it now than wait another 10 years and be doing it in your 50s.
Trust me hehehe

Agreed, Trevor. I've been an athlete most of my life, so seeing where I am right now looks kinda like I "gave up" a bit. Hit the gym today and feel refreshed. Thanks for the empathy and sharing, brother.

I'm 44, it's hard when you feel that your body is not at the peak it used to be. Me, I love a bit of everything so wouldn't cut down on the booze but have been fair hitting the gym hard this weather. Anything is better than sitting on the armchair for the rest of our days!!

Agreed, meesterboom

I have recently been doing a lot of reflecting, and have found that the pursuit of knowledge, and self knowledge in particular, has been one of the most effective tools in making positive changes in my life. I think you might find these two websites interesting if not helpful - they completely changed the way I live my life..
http://www.tokenrock.com/numerology/life_path/
https://www.16personalities.com/

Thanks, Ozwald. I'll check them out. Bookmarked and following you.

I'm less than a Month from my Douglas Adams day. I'll be 42.
Over the hill. Psssph!

Happy birthday fellow old timer! Lol

Happy birthday!
I like you when your drunk. lol

You are not old unless you think you are. I like the idea of not drinking for a month and hitting the gym. Maybe after your month you can write a post on it.
My birthday is in a couple days, I might try the same. the drinking is a might not the self reflection. I will be doing that and hopefully I can make some good goals like you have.
The gym is always good but you don't really need a gym, just the want to work out. Your health is usually the one thing people cant put a price on.
Cheers and congrats on surviving another year in this thing we call life.
:D

Thank you, and happy birthday!

In a couple days but thanx!

Happy Birthday @tee-em! I really enjoyed your post! I wish you good luck with this great resolution!

Thanks! Nice chatting with you too

This is somewhat simplistic, but got the idea from Tim Ferriss. Making my bed as the first thing I do in the morning because it sets your day off with an accomplishment, thus setting the precedent for the day. Happy b-day man.

That's strange, but hey, if it works, I'll give it a try. Thanks, Scaredycatguide!

I've one that 2 days straight. Does give you a boost

My wife thinks I am crazy, but I tell her I am optimistic about turning 40, even though that is 6 years away for us. I picture my life in my 40's and envision our debts going down drastically, our savings increasing, our kids getting more independent, and me working less and slowing down to enjoy life more. Of course this will all take place only if God allows it.

Good luck to you. 40 will be awesome.

Thank you!

I am getting closer and closer to 40 and loving it! Happy soon to be birthday handsome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66