You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finish The Story Contest - Curie Community Building Support Application

in #curiecommunitybuilding6 years ago (edited)

Great application for one of the best writing contest/communities on steemit. @curie, I'd like to add my 2 cents on why I say this. There are many great writing contests across steemit, some hosted by whales, some by large communities but one thing they all seem to lack is a genuine desire to foster inventiveness for it's own sake. The finish the story community, and the structure of the competition, does this with a non-judgmental ethos. Bringing writers from many different backgrounds and abilities together which inspires learning and betterment through the simple act of interaction. Reading others work, commenting and particularly in the structure as you can see very clearly how other writers thought processes have taken them down a different path, or a different writing style, from the same beginning.

Finish the story comp rewards consistently based on the criteria of inventive/unique endings. I haven't to this day seen a better creative catalyst on steemit, rewarding interesting and inventive writing from the prompt. This is how people grow into good or even great creative writers, having something to spark that imagination in the first place is half the battle. Finish the story achieves this, I have seen so many people join after stating they only wrote science articles etc after @f3nix encouragement that they should give it a go. The community is strong in this initiative and if anything I think @f3nix has asked for too little in his application 😉

Anyway, I'll finish by saying; curie is all about community and fostering engagement, 'finish the story' mirrors those values ✍ 🙂

Sort:  

Believe me if I tell you that I took a screenshot of your comment and will keep it with care between my best memories of this adventure that we're living together. You understood the true spirit of this initiative and put it down better than how I could ever write. It's through creativity and overcoming our mind prisons that we can feed the best part of us. Cheers my friend!

No worries @f3nix. I spoke from the heart with this comment and I hope that you get the support that the contest deserves :-)

@f3nix should copy & paste this into a post for bananafish! Amazing comment!

Thanks @dynamicrypto I'm a great believer in trying to be real with comments. Sometimes you look at a post and you think 'nice art, I really liked the way you create contrast between sea and sky' and so that's what gets posted, something short but meaningful. Then other times like this, there is so much more to say :-)

Good idea.. I think I'll do that! 🤔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63042.71
ETH 3175.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81