Confessions of a Curmudgeon

in #curmudgeon5 years ago

I have never seen Frozen. It is one of my life’s goals to die happily never having seen Frozen. I have never listened to the music from Hamilton. Another thing I plan on avoiding. It is also worth mentioning that I have gone 12 years without having seen High School Musical. I kind of take pride in this fact. It’s not that I dislike popular things; I will be the first to admit that I have seen almost every Marvel movie. I am, however a curmudgeon.
I’ve always been this way, as far back as I can remember. I take something of a perverse pleasure in scoffing at certain items from popular media, and flouting social convention. I’ve tried to curb this, as it does tend to alienate people. But mostly, I just don’t like being told by society what I should and should not enjoy.
People- adults, mind you- some of them men, told me to watch Frozen (I’ll use this as an example, so I won’t get in too much trouble). I didn’t want to watch Frozen. I figured it would blow over, and everyone would forget about it, but it persisted. People kept telling me to watch Frozen, but I had no desire to watch it. I avoided it. As it persisted, I grew more and more repulsed by Frozen. I felt like people were trying to shove it down my throat, and I don’t like that.
Now, (and I’ll probably lose some man-points for this, but whatever) it’s not that I was necessarily opposed to Disney movies. I saw Moana, and enjoyed most of it (the songs were rather maddening) but I was mostly seeing it because I’m a fan of Dwayne the Rock. I’ve seen several of the Rock’s movies, and I liked almost all of them. There was something about Frozen that just nauseated me. Fortunately, the obsession with Frozen has died down significantly. People are no longer raving about it, and Frozen-haters like me are now socially acceptable. People have grown as sick of it as I was.
I generally try to let other people enjoy things, but I think people go way overboard these days. They get obsessed with this stuff and they take it too seriously. I love comics. I think they’re a good medium for telling stories, but they were never meant to be taken as seriously as they are these days. That’s probably why I enjoy Marvel movies, because they never take themselves too seriously. All you fanboys and fangirls out there just need to chill out. Just let it go...

Sort:  

Congratulations @thegr8scot! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75