Bicycle Tour, Day 33

in #cyclefeed6 years ago

Couple missed days from reporting, because day 31 - a rest day - was spent by eating and putting together the 'Get to know me' challenge, and my batteries were running out, so I had to save some.
Then yesterday, I had another "special stage": cycling 124 km to Lahti where I'm right now at my father's girlfriend's place, with my father. She had prepared a meal: chicken, potato, salad and apple pie for dessert. Really nice.
So, it got late and I was too tired to write yesterday.

It was a long day - 10 hours of cycling - to constant headwind, especially in the beginning. Trust me, there's nothing as maddening as that; it slows you down so much that even on flat road you're forced to have a really small gear and proceed feeling like a snail. It's not that bad really, cause you're still going forward, but it's the psychological impact, feeling like you should be able to go so much faster, but just can't. Luckily it got better when the big highway ended and I was able to enjoy the cycling itself without the feeling of hurry, and the wind settled down too.

I actually had my first (minor) accident while riding: I was cycling on a highway and there was a sign for cyclers and pedestrians to turn on a smaller road. To this small road there was a gate and there were ropes hanging from it. Now, having cycled tens of kilometers already, I was pretty much in a trans, so it didn't come to me that I should suddenly be thinking for physics; I was just rolling with the speed I had, but it was too fast apparently, since the ropes didn't flow over, but clinged onto my bike, and whip, I fell onto the ground. Luckily I only got a small hit and a scratch under my right knee, and the bike stayed intact - only got a hole on my pants. Need to patch that.
DSC_02901516x2021.JPG
Got bruised on my hands for landing on them, no damage to wrists luckily.

I don't know why I didn't take a picture of that, perhaps because I was wondering "who the fuck's idea was it to put this kind of a trap here?!" I mean, if the function of the ropes is to slow people down, I guess it worked, but wouldn't it be a better idea to just put one of those plastic gates that actually gives a clear signal to slow down, instead of this fucking death trap?
I mean, yeah, I should've realized to slow down, but if there's a chance for someone to die because of a gate that cyclers are supposed to enter, I don't think that's very good design.
Should've cut those fucking ropes with my knife.

I find it quite ironic that my only accident happened - not on a highway among cars and trucks - but while trying to enter a cycling road...

Anyhow, that being the worst accident, I can live with that.


Oh, on the way close to Lahti there was this peculiar American-themed eating place.

_20181007_095239.JPG

Those school buses - you could actually eat inside them. I almost wanted to check the place out, but I knew I had warm dinner waiting for me, so I didn't stay.

Pretty cool that kinda thing exists on the small old road that nowadays has big motor lane next to it which has made the old gas stations obsolete.


Now it's actually just 76 km to home, most of which is downhill, so that'll be a light last special stage :D

PS. I realized I'm a white-ass, because even though it's long into autumn already, my face looked like I clearly got the vitamin D of the day - it didn't burn at least, but slightly red. I'm actually kinda jealous for people with a naturally darker skin - not because of the supposed aesthetic look - but because it's practical for outdoor activities and adventuring. No need to always be adding sunscreen or covering your skin. But then we have this thing called 'rasism' where we bully people with darker skin than usual. (But it's not only rasism really - we just pick on whatever goes against the norm.) But then we are jealous for people that live an adventurous life and follow them on Instagram, and then white people actually want a tanned skin themselves. Is it just me, or are we just plain stupid?

Sort:  

Haha, I'm really curious what that diner looks like inside and what's on the menu. It looks like a caricature of something you might see in the middle of nowhere in America.

It looks like a caricature of something you might see in the middle of nowhere in America.

Yeah :D

I don't think we're going there though (or I - won't do any extra miles with my bicycle). But I'll keep the place in my mind should I be around some other time.

They have a website where you can find pictures and download English menu. There's actually two of those places so I don't know if all the pics are from the one I saw.

Oh that's awesome, thanks. I love that they even have the American versions of Mexican food with tacos and nachos.

I love that they even have the American versions of Mexican food with tacos and nachos.

IOh, that's cool, didn't even look the menu in such detail to notice it. Seems like they've really invested in authenticity then.

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.707 which ranks you at #4954 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 49 places in the last three days (old rank 4905).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 271 contributions, your post is ranked at #142.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63383.41
ETH 3119.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85