You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cycling to Thracian cult complex - Heroon

in #cyclefeed5 years ago

Very cool, @vesytz.

Exploring ruins is one of my favorite things to do, and I would love to see the Thracian Tomb one of these days. It's amazing that they actually allow you to still go inside the structure. So much can be closed off to visitors for one reason or another, structural integrity and human erosion among them.

I take it there must be some kind of lights in those alcoves (I'd call them windows, but they seem to be sealed) to get that glow off the walls and the columns. Really gives that whole inside a warm feel to it.

It's really hard to tell dimensions of inside that column, but the circumference looks awfully tight for a stairwell. I've seen something similar at Chichen Itza in Mexico, though, so I know it's possible.

I hope you get to see more ruins around there, and I'm glad you finally just went here. Very interesting, and the view was great along the way, too. I don't know much about that part of the world, but the sea is beautiful.

Congratulations, too, on the curie. I enjoyed learning about this.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your comment @glenalbrethsen !

For the hollow column - it has a diameter of 3.30 m. It extends upward and merges with the outer wall, reminiscent of a giant sponge.

I wish you one day to visit Bulgaria and see the Thracian Tomb :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67