BRKR Ride is Now WSRCW Ride!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cyclefeed6 years ago (edited)

We have had a hard time getting our weekly Thursday ride going this year so what better way to kick it back off than rebranding it? It was formerly the Black Rock King Rollers, which derived from us meeting at a bar in the Black Rock neighborhood of Buffalo. We have been meeting on the West Side for the past 4 years or so, which makes us long overdue for a name change. Well, we haven't really decided yet but were playing with the initials WSRCW, mostly as a joke. Ideas included:

  • West Side Royal Chicken Wingers (the original drunken text message)
  • West Side Royal Cat Wizards
  • Watermelon Shawshank Redemption Crystal Women
  • West Side Rollicking Cat Wanderers
  • West Side Ramblin' Cattle Wranglers

Who am I kidding? These were probably all drunk ideas. The point is that we need a name change, whatever the initials end up being.

We got a small group of 5 together for today's ride. We had just the meetup at Bidwell Park, a stop in Delaware Park and ate chicken wings at the Wellington Pub. It's Buffalo. We have a wing addiction. We even were lucky enough to get a hockey arena which used to be named HSBC arena. They claimed it was just the name of a bank but us Buffalonians knew it secretly stood for "Hot Sauce and Blue Cheese" Arena. (Blue cheese is the only acceptable dressing to put on your wings when you are in Buffalo.)

IMG_20180809_200316831.jpg

Delaware Park was our first stop. Alex told us about a game she learned which involved one person surfing on two people rolling on the grass. This may sound like a children's game but even as grown adults this was fun! I joined in after the video stopped.

IMG_20180809_200433365.jpg

Here's my video on dtube:


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS



After this awesome stupid fun we went to the Wellington Pub and shared a bucket (50) of wings amongst the five of us. No we couldn't eat it all. I now have a dozen wings in my fridge for tomorrow.

IMG_20180809_212742538_LL.jpg

I'll add one more thing! This was my first ride with my new bike! Well it's new to me. I garbage picked this old 80s Schwinn and it rides as well as a brand new $500 bike! It's the one in the front, locked up to the railing.

IMG_20180809_205303787_LL.jpg

The distance is wrong here, because I forgot to turn Strava back on until we got to the first stop.



@robmolecule tracked today a total of 15314 moves/activity via Actifit Fitness Tracker.
This involved performing activity related to Cycling
Download Actifit Fitness Tracker mobile app from google playstore

Co-founder and Curator of:


Do you like what we do? Please consider giving us an upvote or even a resteem. This will help us pay out higher rewards to the community which encourage even more people to use #cyclefeed.

PARTICIPATE ON @CycleFeed



  1. Follow and upvote @CycleFeed
  2. Follow our curation trail on Steemauto or delegate Steem Power: Check out our tutorial!
  3. Use the tag #cyclefeed in your posts: Check out the requirements!

Join our sub-group on the Steemit Travellers on Discord!

With over 500 members already on the Steemit Travellers Discord, it is an excellent place to meet other travelers and chat about traveling! Now you are also presented with the Cycling sub-group, that has been created just for you, the Cyclist. The server is also the place where you can ask all your questions about CycleFeed.

Proud member of:


Sort:  

Hahaha sorry I haven't had the time to read this post earlier, you know how things are crazy over here. What a crazy and awesome group of people!

Now this part just cracked me "Hot Sauce and Blue Cheese" Arena HHAHHAHA

If you find me a place to work that covers the cost of my plane ticket, I fly tomorrow. Love how active your city is.

I have made so many new friends through social bike rides. The rides get bigger, then smaller. Sometimes I prefer the smaller groups.

I wish immigration was easier in this country. There are probably some places that still pay off the books and don't care.

Yeah, I usually don't take part in group rides, but they always seem to be open minded and cool.
There are some social ones in the capital, similar to what you did, teach kids how to ride and more.

There are many different kinds of group rides here. My favorite are really just a bunch of friends hanging out on bikes going for a ride with multiple stops, generally outdoors. It's a cool way to meet people. I'm not into the exercise group rides so much, nor am I into the giant 2000 person weekly slow rolls that barely even get to a riding pace. I do like the ones that GoBike organizes, such as the Skyride (we biked the highways) and Tour de Farms, which is a 30 mile ride visiting visiting farms in both urban and rural areas. But, I have to work and will miss it this year.

Looks really cool. Youngtimer in bikes

Cycling keeps you forever young.

I meant your bike hahah but ok :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91