[Part 3] Three-Day Two-Night Bike Camping Trip

in #cyclefeed6 years ago (edited)

This post is part 3 of a 3-part series about a 3-day bike trip I did earlier this week. If you haven't already, please read part 1 and part 2.

It seemed much colder this night than it had the night before. It was hot when I went to sleep so I was only wearing shorts. With the tent being mostly mesh covered, it lets a lot of air in on a hot night, almost like sleeping out in the open. But when it got cold I wish I had put the rain-fly on. My feet were coldest. I was too tired to attach the rain-fly, but I managed to find a pair of socks. When I got back in the tent, I had to pull the sleeping bag over my head to warm myself up with my breath. It was one of those nights where I could only confirm I got any sleep by recalling that I had a dream. Of course I didn't remember any of those dreams when I finally decided to get up for the morning.

Our hosts were still asleep. We quietly filled our water bottles and rolled back down that hill. It's fun but was approaching scary speeds. There wasn't much for breakfast in town so we got coffee at a gas station that had a nice covered picnic area to rest and get some shade. It was still early but we could tell a hot day lay ahead.

IMG_20180712_091647494_HDR.jpg

This last day ended up being 12 km less than if we had camped in the park where we had originally planned to ride. I'm just glad that hills became more scarce the further we rode. We stopped for breakfast in the village of <a href="http://www.east-aurora.ny.us/"East Aurora. If anyone is ever coming near here on a tour, it's a great place to visit. It's quaint, but not cheap. It is this picturesque village that might be a little too perfect. Former U.S. President Millard Fillmore once lived here. It is where the Roycroft craft workers movement was based. It is also the corporate headquarters of Fisher Price and Moog Inc. (the aerospace and defense company, not the synthesizer manufacturer). It's a lot for such a small town. Perhaps that is why it does so well. Perhaps it's because they successfully blocked Wal Mart from opening a store there in the 90s, saving the downtown business district from becoming a ghost town like a lot of other small towns.

We had breakfast at the Elm St. Bakery right off Main St. in East Aurora. I had the breakfast sandwich which at $6 was maybe a little pricey for it's size, but was so good I didn't care. We almost stuck around for lunch but decided we should get on our way.

IMG_20180712_112256266.jpg

The ride home was certainly easier and shorter. I have to say it's almost a bit depressing. When I fly or drive on a trip, I'm often pretty happy when I go back home. But riding all the way back from such an adventure starts to feel like a letdown. I want to keep pedaling in the other direction! Soon, I will hit the road again. Further! Keep pedaling!

IMG_20180712_121729783.jpg

Sort:  

Ride on.
Good way to connect with reality, the moment.

Thanks! I'm always trying to be in the moment. Meditating works...or just ride a bike.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00