My new ridesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cycling6 years ago

Over the holiday season I decided it was time for a serious upgrade to my mtb steed. My options were vast, I test rode lots of bikes and I liked all of them in different ways. In the end I decided to pick a frame and then go wild with the components.

image

I wanted to make the lightest dual suspension cross country machine possible - starting with a heavy frame... That's right, the Pyga stage is not the lightest frame you'll come across compared to the Scott Spark or Specialized Epic but it's very adaptable and is noted as being extremely talented on descents. It's also a local design so supporting local industry was a bonus.

image

From the frame I let my local bike shop owner (a mechanical oracle of sorts) pick and choose the components to my budget. He seemed to beam with excitement and came back with a dream team of parts that included a 1x12 Eagle drivetrain, 120mm DT Swiss ODL fork and Stans Valor carbon wheels.

image

It then started to get weird as the frame, went away and came back naked. The paint was removed back to bare carbon in order to save 270 grams (who knew paint was so heavy?). It didn't stop there either, the shock was put on the lathe to reduce a couple grams, bolts were all changed for titanium derivatives and the wheels built with super light but strong spokes.

image

Once completed it hit the scale at 10.1 kg (22.6lb) with the pedals on. Madness.

image

I thought I'd share the build with those interested as it's now a one-of-a-kind bike and I can't wait to clock up more miles on it. My initial impression is that it's going to make my riding even more rewarding as it's so light to climb with but even more direct and nimble on the descents.

Here's to a solid year of mtb riding.
image

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! Ill be sure to follow and upvote your posts and would appreciate it if you could do the same for me. Have a great day!

Welcome to the community. Creativity is contagious... pass it along. - Albert Einstein

Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those weels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66936.87
ETH 3079.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66