Solar eBike - Creating the Battery Pack

in #cycling5 years ago

Howdy friends!

Last time you heard from me I was thinking through some ideas on how to arrange the battery and panels on my Solar eBike. In this video I'll show you how I created an expandable battery pack!

If you appreciate and want to support my work, please consider buying me something to eat:
http://feedawizard.org

Cahlen

Sort:  

Don't you have too much heat in your isolated bag for the batteries ?

I don't think so. The max draw on the whole pack is 750W divided up between 156 cells, so very little heat produced through discharge. The aluminum keeps the pack from heating up from being in the sun.

Really neat progress!

Maybe you could use some heavy duty velcro to attach the solar panel to the top of the the box/housing.

As for security maybe when you add a rack to the front it can have a cage that fits on top of it that you can move to the back and lock down when you are in a store or otherwise away from the bike and want to secure it.

The only other thing I can think you may want to do is to add some plastic shielding around the wires that lead from your 'battery adapter' to the box on the the rear of the bike.

Great project and I love how it is coming along!

Thanks for the ideas! I think the velcro could work, but it will need to attach strongly to the box with glue in the bottom side. Maybe gorilla glue will be enough.

Hadn't thought about the front rack cage, but that should be pretty easy! It would keep my backpack secure, though it's not big enough for the battery box.

Would the plastic be for security purposes, or just to protect it from the elements?

You are welcome @cahlen!

The plastic shielding around the wires would help protect them from abrasion, the elements and especially ultraviolet from the sun which will degrade the insulation on them. You could fit both the wires into one piece of shielding also which would consolidate them.

The shielding that I am thinking of is the flexible kind that is generally called 'heat shielding' and can be purchased at pretty much any auto parts store. It may be worthwhile to shop around and find some that is specifically UV resistant.

wow......amazing....its look like a motor bike....how many time it is reilable?....@cahlen

It's gone almost 500 miles so far, and there are others who have had their bikes for years and gone thousands of miles.

That is a neat design. Would love to see more

Thanks, more is definitely coming!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77