Buffalo Bike Party June 2018 - Alien Abduction

The Buffalo Bike Party rides on the second Friday of every month. This month's theme was Alien Abduction. People were encouraged to dress in anything alien or just space-like. I brought aluminum foil that friends fashioned into a collar and antenna for me. I made the foil into bracelets.

IMG_20180608_200422477.jpg

Our route was slightly on the longer side for this ride, which made it hard for some people. I could go further but I realize we are a ride open to everyone. As ride leader, I struggle sometimes to keep a slow pace. We had about 20 at the start that grew to about 30 by the time we got to our first stop. A few random people saw us and joined our ride. I absolutely love when we can get people to spontaneously ride with us.

IMG_20180608_204357344.jpg

Our first stop was Wilkeson Point. I've posted about this spot before. We told everyone we were taking them to an alien communication transmission station. I mean, what else could these spinning poles be meant for? We even played a recording of an alien message for everyone.

IMG_20180608_205840890_HDR.jpg

IMG_20180608_211643819_LL.jpg

IMG_20180608_212127631.jpg

After this we rode to Father Conway Park, which has a large open field perfect for a flying saucer to land in, but none showed up.

We ended the night at Milkie's Elmwood Lounge so everyone could dance for Sugar City Soul Night. I stayed for about an hour and a half before heading home. I'm really more a day person. I'll probably be up again at 6am tomorrow for no reason because I can't sleep in if I tried.

IMG_20180608_235005154.jpg

IMG_20180608_235128400.jpg

IMG_20180608_235143274_BURST000_COVER_TOP.jpg

Disclaimer: I use vote promotion and steem leasing services from Smartsteem and Minnowbooster. Both have approved me for their whitelist based on the content of my posts. I always wait at least one to two hours to buy any votes, so curators will have time to vote before any paid votes. I have leased steem to have more SP to upvote the cycling community. This means I must self-upvote to recover my costs and continue leasing steem. I wait a couple hours to allow curators to vote first. To sell your vote on Minnowbooster, use this referral link for an added bonus!

Sort:  

Cool, that looks like an alien crowd! Being able to ride very slowly is a very important skill ;-) But seriously it is, especially on a MTB, as you will be able to tackle technical terrain better....

Good point. For very slow, we have the slow roll, but that is so slow that I've never had the patience to finish it. There's a ride I was thinking of doing today that I heard is also pretty slow. Don't know if I'll make it this week but hopefully soon as I'd like to at least try every group ride around here. I have an old mountain bike frame I could fix up. It's nothing great but maybe it would be fun to try something new as I've never gone mountain biking.

Good! That proofs a point for the "10 commandments of mountain biking" - see link below - "6: Thou shalt not show superiority to roadies; they will graduate to mountain biking one day". 😂

https://steemit.com/cycling/@ultrabiker/the-10-commandments-of-mountain-biking

Oh I'm not a roadie. I haven't graduated to that yet. I'm just a slow urban commuter I guess.

Edit: I'm more into just adventure on a bike, moving toward touring some when I figure out someone to watch my dog.

What a great idea to have a theme for a ride. I love the idea.

I really enjoy the themes. It is just hard to get people to participate. I should have brought more aluminum foil to pass on to others. Next month is a "glow" ride. I'll but enough glow sticks to pass out to people who don't bring anything. It's an easy cheap one for us to make sure everyone participates in the theme.

It sounds great, I would always turn up but I looked it up and 4723 miles is a long way to come for a cycle ride. I will have to ride with you in spirit.
A friend of mine is a member of a cycle group who meet every Thursday. Anyone who doesn't come has to pay a small fee and put up with the riduculing of the others the next time they turn up. Seems to work for them. Their Thursday night run consites of a quick 30 mile ride and the rest of the night in the pub. (bar)
Once a year they have a whole weekend trip. One year abroad in europe and the following year in the UK. I don't live there anymore so can't join them. If they don't come they have to pay a fine.
But they don't do a theme so they can't be as good as your rides. I really do like the idea of a theme.

The themes are fun, especially when popping into a bar. We didn't invent the idea though. They were already doing bike parties in other cities.

The helmet is super cool. You should keep it that way. Haha.

Watching Hollywood movies since a kid, one thing always struck me. Aliens and the American fascination with them!

I guess it stems from our history of space exploration and cold war nuclear build-up. If we could go to the moon, then wouldn't we also see the possibility of another planet going one further and reaching Earth? In movies, the alien technology threat also stood in for our fear of nuclear war. I guess it's also our own brand of fairy tale, a ghost story that sounds a bit more scientific.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94