I Beat the Magalies Monster!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cycling4steemit6 years ago (edited)

I Beat the Monster!

Screen Shot 2018-06-06 at 17.09.54.png

images: stillwatersports.com


In this case the Monster is a Monster climb. The FNB Magalies Monster Classic is a 70 km MTB race close to Johannesburg, and the 'monster' is a monstrous climb that comes after 20 km into the race. Just have a look at the elevation profile:

Screen Shot 2018-06-06 at 17.22.13.png

The total elevation for this race is around 1,500 meters, but what makes it so tough is the rough terrain. Rocks everywhere, and even the downhills are very stressful events....

Screen Shot 2018-06-06 at 17.31.00.png

I was a little "misbatched" as I had not done similar races in the last year. Here we use a national ranking system, so if you do well, you get to start in an earlier (and faster) 'batch'. Didn't matter too much though, as I used the race as a training, it also ensured I wouldn't start too quickly, which I usually tend to do.

In total it took me just under 4 and a half hours, fairly pleased with that. Here is me at a water crossing:

Screen Shot 2018-06-06 at 17.34.16.png

The next day I went back, to check on the Monster:

Screen Shot 2018-06-06 at 17.35.56.png

I can assure you it's still there, waiting for the next people crazy enough to go up this monstrous climb!

for more info: http://www.stillwatersports.com/event/fnb-magalies-monster/


Click for my other posts

Language affects the way we think

My cycling posts:
5 Random Tips and Tricks for MTB riders (5)
5 Random Tips and Tricks for MTB riders (4)
5 Random Tips and Tricks for MTB riders (3)
5 Random Tips and Tricks for MTB riders (2)
5 Random Tips and Tricks for MTB riders (1)
What to carry on your bike
Bhutan - Tour of the Dragon - 268 km MTB race
Plugging your tires
My bike, Salsa Cutthroat
My competitors
Fast after 50: book review

Sort:  

Superb and congrats on completing the monster challenge!

Great job!

cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01