Do or die!!

in #cyrpo5 years ago

have faced such situations many a times in life. Be it on professional front or in personal life. During academics as well, i was once into such situation.

That year i had changed my school and got admission in a girls school (IX grade). I was good at debates and presentations and had always been an active participant in inter-school competitions and had been winner too (i have won many trophies). One such debate competition was conducted and as my nature, when the announcement came, i gave my name as well.

Since i was a new comer and there were other two girls who were teacher’s favorite ( as they had been in the school since 6th grade) they were selected immediately. Although as i had requested hard to my class teacher, i was considered as an extra participant. (In case either of them is not able to participate then i might get a chance). I was little upset for such partial behavior but I didn’t give up. I prepared well for that competition. I wrote my debate by myself and was fully ready go present.

On the day of the competition, there were more than 40 schools and each school had 2 students as participants. (One -for and one against the topic) I pursued my teacher (who accompanied us to the place where the competition was organized) to give my name as well. ( our school had 3 participants).

The competition started and both the girls from my school were not able to deliver the speech well. ( one got nervous and other one forgot the lines) now i was waiting for my turn. The teacher who was with us, she lost hope of winning as the star performers were not able to perform. She looked at me and said -“Ab tum to kya hi kar logi, jab ye dono hi perform nahi kar payi” ( what would you be able to do, when they were not able to perform) and she said let return to school.

Rather then boosting my confidence , she let my morale down. But i gathered my courage and requested her to stay till my turn. She agreed looking at my face and when my turn came, i prayed to God that even if i won a bronze medal, i would be thankful to Him.

After delivering my speech, I returned to my place and continuously was praying that help me win. And when the results were announced as i was so busy praying, I couldn’t hear my name (in for category of the topic) for bronze medal as i was busy praying. My name was announced for the second time and my fellow student asked me to run to the stage to collect my medal and certificate.

I was on cloud 9 that day. I was very happy. Since our school had a record of winning a medal every year, i maintained that record.

Afer collecting my medal and certificate, i looked into our teacher’s eyes and confidently told her, thank you for giving me this chance as an extra participant.

Next day, my school’s name and my name was published in the newspaper. I went to meet our principal in her office, took her blessings and she was so happy that i could win the medal for our school.

My class teacher was also happy and I received loads of praises. But after that competition, i never participated in any other debate competition or until i was in that school ( till 12th grade). Somewhere in my little heart, i held a grudge against those teachers who held a partial attitude which stopped me from participating.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66407.66
ETH 3025.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69