HOW I LOST MY LIFE SAVINGS ON BITCONNECT.

in #cyrptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

LITTLE INFO: IM 56 AND MY SON IS 27. HE INVESTED IN XRP, ADA, BTC, BCC, AND ETH. I DID THE SAME

I remember the day my oldest child told me about cyrptocurrency. I would say Bitcoin, but thats putting it vaguely. It was the day before halloween. He showed me his gains from this year, he was doing really well. He was up almost 2000%. Which as you know is an extremely large profit margin, depending on how much you invested. And in his case he invested upwards of $15,000 to start. My first thought, its a scam. You cant see these "coins" its gotta be fake. I say "coins" because bitconnect was BULLSHIT.

He begins telling me about all these "coins" and the benefit of each one and i slowly become intrigued by the idea of doubling or tripling my money. Thats all i wanted to do, nothing more just a small gain and thats it. So, I told him that if by christmas time if these coins increase significantly in price fuck it ill all in (big mistake). 

If you dont already know, XRP ADA BTC BCC and ETH all saw an enormous amount of gain from October 2017 to late December 2017 (the time i invested). My family came in for the holiday (christmas) including my son, we got to talking about the plan for my investments. $10,000 in XRP, $20,000 in BTC, $5,000 in BCC, 5,000 in ADA, and $25,000 in ETH. He was excited for the future of my investments, and we talked about what we would do if one of these coins increased enormously. 

THE DAY IS DECEMBER 30TH 2017

Where i live (Sacramento California) there are "bitcoin atms" which allow you to deposit cash into a bitcoin wallet of your choice, mine being Bitconnect. So thats what i did, $65,000 into the bitcoin atm which would appear in my bitconnect wallet some 2 hours later. So yeah we get home, my son goes on bitconnect and invests into the coins i previously mentioned. 

Some days go by and i check it couple times a day, i saw already a 10% increase within 2 days. Not going to lie i was very very optimistic in the future of my investments. 

WHERE THE STORY GETS SAD

I didnt check my investments for some time ( busy with work and the wife). January 18th 2018 is the day i logged onto bitconnect and saw all of my coins had suddenly vanished and was replaced with BitconnectCoin (pretty much a slap in the face). I immediately call my son screaming, WHAT THE FUCK IS GOING ON SAMUEL!! WHERES MY MONEY!! I guess he also had not checked his investments because he had no idea what i was talking about. He says ok ill call you back.


WORST PHONE CALL OF MY LIFE

Dad, bitconnect was a ponzi scheme all along. We lost all of our money. I thought i was dreaming. My life savings gone just like that. No explanation other than it was a ponzi scheme? nobody held accountable, no refund, NOTHING!!! IM FUCKED!! morgage on the house, student loans, car payments, credit card payments, etc. My wife hasnt talked to me sense the day i told her i lost everything. My son Samuel committed suicide days after bitconnect shutdown, he left a letter only saying "Im sorry dad".  I still dont believe any of this is real 




Sort:  

I'm sorry to hear such a bad story. Many of us tried to warn people to stay away from "guaranteed" returns. So sad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77