February 4, 2018: I've Forgotten My Charger

in #daily6 years ago (edited)

So I was getting ready for work, starting my day off with a fresh new haircut and a nice, clean button-up. Took a taxi with my friend Christine, arrived at work on time -- good day so far. Then I headed to my office, got my lab coat from off the rack and put it on, sat down, and as I was about to turn on my computer, it hit me: I couldn't find my charger. And even worse, my phone was at 20%.

Charger 2.jpg

Panic time.

 
You see, normally this wouldn't be an issue if it were any other day. However, it was Sunday and I am expected to turn in a weekly report every Monday. For those of you who don't know, I am a Food Safety Manager at a local resort's culinary department. So this weekly report consists of my findings (safety hazards, food spoilage, improper food storage, unsanitary workstations, etc), all of which I transfer from my phone into my computer every Sunday. That means that if I didn't upload the files by Sunday, the report wouldn't be ready by Monday morning. And trust me, you haven't seen angry until you've seen a middle-aged Korean executive chef who hasn't gotten his weekly report on time.

Lion.jpg

Seriously.

Anyway, so I make my way through all the various departments searching for a lightning cable for my iPhone 6. My waitress friends at the Food & Beverage department had iPhones, but didn't bring their cables to work. My receptionist friends at the Front Desk/Reservations department don't use their phones at work, so didn't have cables, either. My lifeguard friends at the Water Park department were apparently all #TeamSamsung.
Things weren't looking so great.

Then, I saw another manager walking through the lobby. Her name was Yuri, and she was a Korean lady in her early 30s. I usually see her around and, as usual, she had that look. The I'm-very-busy-so-please-don't-interrupt-my-work look. I was very hesitant to ask her, but I was running out of options quick. So I worked up the courage and asked. And it went a little like this:


 

Me: "Hi, Yuri."

Yuri: *Hurriedly* "Oh, hello. Yes?"

Me: "I was wondering if you happened to have an
    iPhone lightning cable that I could borrow?"

Yuri: *Walking faster* "Um, I don't know if I have
      mine on me... May I know what you need it for?"

Me: *Trying to match her pace* "Well, you see, I left mine at home
    and Chef Louis really needed me to transfer some files from my
    phone into his computer before tomorrow. Don't really wanna
    get on his bad side."

Yuri: "Ah yes, Chef Louis's bad side isn't fun. I can't
       say for sure that I have one, but I will definitely check."

Me: "Thank you, I really appreciate it!"

 
 


And so she rushed off on whatever errand she had already been on, and I waited in my office. Eventually, she came into my office and, with the straightest face, gave me this beauty:

A thing of beauty

 
...Well played, Yuri. Well played.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61