You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spring is here!! It's baby chick season! Here's how to add to your flock, without using a brooder! ♥

in #dailychicken5 years ago (edited)

We have fox that moved here last year. Have lost 3 hens from our Fort Knox in 3 days, but not yesterday. I think what she's doing, as she can't get in, is scaring them so they fly out. I found 1 out at supper time and put her back in, and we still had 15 when I locked up for the night. Gonna have to make the sides higher, I guess.... Or put up a separate perimeter fence so she can't scare them into flying...

Sort:  

Wing trimming can also help if they are hopping the fence! I get some crazy hens that decide they should go over any and every fence they find, so I just catch them atnight and trim those flight feathers. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67619.15
ETH 3539.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22