You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spring is here!! It's baby chick season! Here's how to add to your flock, without using a brooder! ♥

We have 65 new baby chicks coming next week. We may hatch our own eggs in a month or two as well. So not ready for all those chicks in our garage! But it’s still too cold to have them outside with the chickens. I do wonder how they will get along. Will the roosters be an issue? We currently have 3.

Sort:  

Well, it CAN be tricky when introducing young ones to the flock. Thats another reason I like having the hen do it, because they are in the flock from the beginning.
I think free ranging also helps, or at least, have LOTS of space for them to get away if someone is picking on them. Introducing a butt-load of chicks all at once will also help, since no one should be getting picked on too much, there are just so many. Honestly, I have found that young hens are really the worst about picking on newcomers, roosters, (in my experience), are the protectors of the flock, and dont tend to pick on young ones.

Young hens? Well I wasn’t expecting that! We will have to see how it goes, but I’m thinking it shouldn’t be too bad..I hope!

Hopefully not!! Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63894.44
ETH 3342.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91