Bucket Chicken February 9

THIS is the kind of chicken bucket that America needs more of!

IMG_20190206_105154193.jpg

My bucket nesting boxes appear to be working some. They're still laying some under Turkey, but we get 2 or 3 a day from in the buckets, which I consider a success. I'm also thinking of making some out of a couple Rubbermaid totes we have laying around...

Be blessed.
Be fruitful.
Stay relevant.

Nate.


cooplogowebsite.png
Purchase sustainably produced seeds, textiles, medicines, and more for SBD from @homesteaderscoop at The Homesteader's Co-op Online Marketplace!

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPUNtMaZahB7oRoHdj6MJLjv8qH3AC8YhazjBxUjdbMw38yfKNg13WeaaBUk3BEt4xeUb8SyHVY.png
Follow @naturalmedicine and join the Natural Medicine discord channel today and come grow and learn with us!


Join us on the GHSC Discord and follow @ghscollective to become part of a global network of homesteaders!

Sort:  

My chickens are assholes and won't go in their roosting boxes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Mine wouldn't look at these til Turkey stopped letting them lay under her for a few days. I still don't think these are their favorites, but I'm not sure yet. I think I'm going to build another coop soon to help more space for me and some indoor nesting boxes.

Won't Melissa let you sleep inside?

Posted using Partiko Android

Nope! So since she was mad, I tried doing what makes the chooks happy. I threw scratch grains on the floor. That did not make her happy, so now I sleep with the chickens.

Weird, that always makes me happy!

Posted using Partiko Android

That's pretty clever! We've tried getting our ducks to lay inside an old plastic tote, but I think it let in too much light. Maybe they would feel more private if you used a darker color bucket.

Maybe so! I'm also kinda thinking about making a little plywood roof over there to make it a bit less open.

That's a good idea. I hope you enjoyed your planting. It's snowing here again. (Sob)

Posted using Partiko Android

It's warming up here. High of 63 and thunderstorms tomorrow.

those are the best chicken buckets indeed!!! Mine are bad girls for the most part and lay where I don't want them to LOL

I retrieved ten unauthorized eggs from our broody mama the last two days lol

I think they're onto me...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97