It Rained and Daily Chicken 4steemCreated with Sketch.

in #dailychicken6 years ago

31696037_1021342854696571_8921899439010873344_o.jpg
Doing some maintenance around the chicken run.
Ever so often I rake up their run and make a compost bin in there. Put down fresh bedding.
My Brahma have feathered feet and legs so I have to pay a bit if extra attention to their run if we get a lot of rain. Chickens also need a good clean dirt source for their bath. So I'll go get a wheel barrow of fresh material make sure there are no clumps then I mix in the DE as a preventative for mites and lice.
Then I get out of the way!!!
Cause they love it and the dirt flies for hours. Lol
31689221_1021346834696173_6456722596338597888_o.jpg

It was perfect timing because we got RAIN a real soaking. Will be so good for my new seedlings. The horses are loving it and the ducks are running around in it all crazy.

This is what I had in my coop tank this morning and it's raining a little again now. The well had gone completely dry so maybe in a couple days I can pump water again 😀 cause hauling water sucks!

IMG_20180810_091755.jpg

Been busy working on a tractor for my Guinea babies, always something going on at the homestead.lol

Thanks so much for stopping by the homestead
@SugarCreek

Yep, original photos taken by me on my cheap cell phone IMG_1532806638090.jpg

Sort:  

I did wonder about your Brahmas' feathered feet and how you managed it...

Congratulations @sugarcreek! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

howdy today @sugarcreek! oh so that's how you prevent fleas, by mixing DE with dirt so they can take dirt baths, got it!

I like the mixing of the DE with dirt. I put usually some down in their nesting boxes under the shavings and they have lots of dirt areas - if they scratch hard enough. but I think I will mix one area with some DE and see how they like that. - And we are not going to see rain for a long time... Hope you get some more and your well gets replenished.

Let me know how they like it!😊
We got another sprinkle last night, such a relief. We were able to pump enough to fill one of the horses water tanks. 40 gal. Will be a relief when we get moved over to our land with water supply for sure. Water is life.

You are not kidding!! Water is life and to have it on our land is going to be more and more important.

Yes, and with all my critters I need a reliable source 😕
We've owned the land for years and so far the spring always runs so that's my backup plan!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85