Daily Diary: Day 13

in #dailydiary6 years ago

Welcome to Day 13 of my Daily Diary, where I intend to record progress on habits I want to develop. You can read the intro post here


Recently, I’ve been wanting to redesign my life and build some new habits. I recall hearing somewhere, on average, 21 days of continuously doing something was the tipping point when it becomes a habit. There are many great books written on the importance of building productive habits, such as The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg.

So in my desire to continuously improve on various aspects of my life, I’ve decided to start a daily diary recording my daily actions corresponding with habits I would like to develop. This list may change over time as I work on new habits, but below are the initial actions I will be recording against. To give extra incentive for me to carry through with the actions, I will be recording my daily diary on the Steem blockchain for transparency.


So this is how I faired on Day 13

Summary thoughts

I'm posting this entry a day late as I didn't have time to post this last night.

Last night my daughter slept the best she has ever had, from around 10pm to 7.30am. Unfortunately, my wife woke up during the night with a nerve twitch behind her ear which kept us up for more than an hour during the night. But despite this, we got some very welcomed sleep. We spent most of the day doing some shopping for gifts, and even squeezed in some time for desserts and ice-cream when my daughter had a nap during the day. We then went to my mum's place for dinner.

Daily Habit 1: Go out for a walk each day with my daughter

Day 1: Completed - took the kids to the park.
Day 2: Didn’t have time to go for a walk. Had a pretty full day today but did spend a bit of time with the kids.
Day 3: Didn’t go for a walk. My daughter was sleeping when I left for work and when I arrived back home it was too dark already.
Day 4: Took my daughter and wife for a nice midday walk in our neighborhood.
Day 5: didn’t go for a walk outside today, but rather went to a shopping center with the whole family and spent most of the afternoon there.
Day 6: Didn’t go for a walk but spent most of the day with my daughter.
Day 7: Was at work for most of the day today, so didn’t have the chance to go for a walk.
Day 8: Again didn’t go for a walk outside today.
Day 9: didn’t go for a walk today.
Day 10: Finally managed to go for a walk again today. It felt really good to breathe in the fresh air and show my daughter flowers and plants in nature.
Day 11: Was at work for most of the day and didn’t get a chance to go for a walk.
Day 12: Spent the day with the family but not much time outdoors.
Day 13: It was raining for most of the day today, so could only go for a walk in a shopping centre.

Daily Habit 2: Speak words of life - say more encouraging and thanks giving words each day, and reduce complaining, blame and negativity

Day 1: Needs improvement - Was encouraging when speaking to my wife today, but was a bit harsh with my son when he wasn’t sharing toys.
Day 2: Was much more encouraging in my words today. Was pleased with how I did in this area today, especially after a sleep deprived night with my daughter not sleeping well.
Day 3: Was again encouraging in my words today and didn’t complain or say anything negative.
Day 4: Didn’t say anything discouraging today, and resisted the urge to say something negative or critical when others were being negative.
Day 5: was positive in my words today.
Day 6: was again positive in my words today.
Day 7: Reminding myself to speak words of life at every opportunity is slowly starting to develop into a habit. I’m really pleased with my progress in this respect. Although I can definitely improve in being more encouraging, I’m happy with the progress so far.
Day 8: was overly critical with my words and tone at times today.
Day 9: lost my temper slightly again today but managed to control my actions and words not to be too harsh.
Day 10: Was much better with my tone and words today. Managed to avoid harsh words and tone and was encouraging.
Day 11: Was mostly encouraging in my words and actions today.
Day 12: Was a bit harsh in my words on one occasion, but was encouraging for most of the day.
Day 13: Was very encouraging with my words and actions throughout the day.

Weekly habit 1: Catch up with friends on a regular basis

Yet to catch up with anyone.
Arranged to catch up with some new friends in a couple of weeks time.
Caught up over social media with some friends and relatives whom I haven’t spoken to for a while.
Day 13: Caught up with a friend over text messages.

Weekly Habit 2: Give to someone or some cause, or do something for someone

Yet to do anything generous on day 1 and 2.
Day 3: Gave an offering today to a missionary starting a pharmacy near Tibet.
Day 4: Stayed home to support my wife after she got very little sleep last night. Looked after my daughter in the afternoon to give my wife time to rest and have a nap.
Day 5 and 6: spent the day with the family.
Day 7: Shared some encouragement with another Steemian and prayed for them.
Day 8:Had a bad day today.
Day 9: Was very tired for most of the day. Tried to be helpful in a couple of little things.
Day 10: Was busy for most of the day.
Day 11: Took the family and my mum out for a nice meal tonight.
Day 12: Encouraged a few people with small actions and words.
Day 13: Was very encouraging to my wife today.


IMG_1769.PNG

Sort:  

God bless you in everything you undertake

How old is your daughter? Be the best every day!!

She is almost 1. Thanks.

family time is the best time!

Excellent post thanks for sharing.

Wowwwww,, good good good

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Wow Its really great post I like this post
Thanks for your nicely post

Great post ,sir............

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86