You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seasoned With Sult N Papper : June 1, 2019> Hello, I am new here or at least it feels that way.

in #dailydose5 years ago

Hey hey hey. What a welcome sight for sore eyes. Not that my eyes are particularly sore, but damn, it's good to see you here.

Good luck with draining the swamp. "There is no good revolution, only power changing hands."

Holy Cow! That admixture sounds astounding. I mean really. I got a 'behind the ropes' tour of Grand Coulee dam back when they were building the 3rd powerhouse. An engineer was sparking one of my sisters (she turned down the engineer and married an incredible dipshit) and he asked me if I wanted to see. Not to let this get too long he told me to leave my camera at home but bring my irrigation boots for the tour. Because of the 'seep'. Water seeping through the concrete. There were multiple 'streams' to ford when you got down near the bottom of the thing. At the time GCD was the largest concrete structure on earth....

So. Waterproof, fully sealed concrete is a real thing. Doing it cheap and easy should be worth about a gazillion dollars more or less. What a truly wondrous thing. I'll be really happy to say "I knew him when".

And the work situation just keeps getting better? How incredibly cool is that? What a great report.

Right until the last sentence. Just reading that you are still in boycott mode is like have a rock in my shoe. An incredible irritant that just shouldn't be there.

Good to see you! And let the record show I think it should be 'Texicans'. It's that pesky X that provides the difficulty... But Texians would be better than Texans. IMHO.

Stain proof driveway concrete might help the entire US economy cause more people would ride Harley Davidsons with no fear of oil stains :)

Sort:  

Damn lucky you are; not many people get a look at that dam from behind the scenes. Most people don't realize just how porous regular concrete is; it is stronger than hell but sucks up water like a sponge. Here in Houston with as much rain as we get it isn't uncommon to have moisture coming up through the concrete floor foundations, the refer to that as "rising damp". But it plays havoc with flooring adhesives and ruins carpet from mold and mildew. Even with the moisture barrier plastics the builders use it still manages to work it's way through; all it takes is a small tear in plastic. Fire ants love plastic and they will eat the plastics for the oils in them; they also build mounds under houses so it puts them right were the moisture barrier is located.
I didn't know Harley's are prone to oil leaks, but I am not a bike guy, so I learned something new this morning.
The term Texians dates back to when Texas was an independent nation. When it became part of the USA the name was changed to Texans. I am for getting back to an independent nation since the USA hasn't lived up to the terms of agreement.
I am keeping my fingers crossed on the additional testing of the concrete, anytime you have people testing stuff you have to hope and pray they do it correctly. I know the stuff works and so does my partner but having documentation from one of the leading schools in the country when it comes to concrete and concrete construction is very important in our eyes.
The only thing that could potentially be an issue is with the oil resistance since the oil isn't sucked into the concrete it will just end up being washed off with the next rain and end up in the gutter. We can always back that out if it were to be an issue since water is the main thing we are going after.
The boycott is troubling; not so much about the paper any longer but that the minister hasn't lived up to his word. I am not going to go sit in church and listen to this guy preach to me when he can't live up to his word. How can I trust him? I can't.
Thanks for the great reply and I do envy you about that damn dam trip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75