You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 01/03/19> Deal ‘em up…and the idiots I work with.

in #dailydose5 years ago

Congratulations. Like you, when I get a roll going I'll stay with it until it's over. It's a LOT of fun getting going like that and in the words of Pete Rose "It ain't bragging if you can DO it."

People like that just piss me off. I'll bet I haven't hit 'reply all' more than 20 times in my life with two exceptions. When I was the secretary of a fantasy football league where 'reply all' was appropriate to hit all the members at one time.

I do not like pissing away time at work. I once went to work in a Cat shop (always a good place to light) that had a policy of 'cleaning up' when you didn't have a billable item in your bay. As the newest guy I was seriously tired of sweeping up at the end of the first week. I went to the shop foreman and suggested that instead of having me push a broom 'at union scale' they just send me home. I always had plenty to do there, and felt like I was stealing from the shop.

I didn't last long at that shop. Insubordination was the term on my termination papers. The guys at the union hall gave me a pretty bad time about that... They couldn't wrap their minds around the fact that I didn't like getting paid for guzbucking off.

Fortunately, there was always somebody that liked my skill set and would put up with me otherwise. Generally a 'Mom and Pop' shop that was happy with my speed and accuracy of my work.

Sort:  

Thanks Tom. Old Pete Rose and that quote was one I had heard before and I couldn't remember it at the time or I would have used it.
I think I have used the reply all button incorrectly maybe 3 times in my life, for sure no more then five.
I am not a fan of pissing away time at work either but I am doing right now as I reply. So far today the only thing I have done company related was open the two blinds on the window so I can watch it rain.
I will have to make another pot of coffee since I am about to take the last cup, but that will probably be the extent of what I do today if today ends up being like yesterday.
Now I just got an email from the guy I am "training under" and he is taking the day off, so I might just consider going home myself.
I have never been one to do just nothing but having been that I was screwed out of 8 days vacation last year I am not about to do a damn thing on my own motivation for this outfit but I know where you are coming from on being productive and not just pissing away time.

You? Insubordinate? I'd never have guessed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87