You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 08/08/18> I've got some questions… any answers?

in #dailydose6 years ago (edited)

I'm on it. Really. But first, like you, uggggh Lawyers. I actually have a couple of friends that are members of the BAR. But it seems all the people that I actually am fond of are in criminal law. Passionate and 'give a shit' people. Plus at least a couple of them ride motorcycles :)

My casual shopping is almost always convenience based. I go to the nearest (only) supermarket. I used to go to a couple of Mom and Pop markets for the bulk of my grocery dollar, but Mom and Pop died and it just didn't take long for the children to turn them into vacant buildings. I am ferociously loyal to people in business. I'll gladly pay more to the Pharmacist that calls me by name.

My local Fry's (Kroger) stopped carrying the coffee I like. Now I'm not above changing, but the only two selections of whole bean left to me were 'house brand' and Starbucks. I switched to my friend Jeff Bezos' online store (Amazon) :) It comes to my door and it's what I like.

Question 2: It's easy. Lie to me, and particularly lie to me to get a sale. A couple of years ago I was in the market for a compact 9mm. I first went to my very local guy and they had both the models I was really interested in there. He told me that he took the one that had an exposed hammer up a ladder and dropped it and it went off. Really? You knowingly dropped a loaded weapon that could send a bullet ANYWHERE? You knowingly caused an accidental discharge? Then you are way too stupid to sell me anything. I never went back.

Question 3A Yes
Question 3B Yes

I'm sort of a genius that way. But it does get me thinking of BBQ 'Gator which is unavailable around here. But ribs are available, and I think maybe I better make some Q pretty quick.

Bonus answer: My friend that is a defense lawyer and also happens to own my favorite coffee shop in the region (and rides TO WORK) once told me about her first capital case. "I defended him on the 'the asshole had a dying coming defense'. We won."

Sort:  

I actually wanted to be a lawyer when I was in grade school and high school, and had my father not passed away right as I got out of high school there is a very good chance I would have gone and went that route.
I have a couple close friends who are lawyers and members of the BAR so I give them crap all the time. There is a dirty little secret that lawyers don't like to talk about, the oath that they have to take. I did a post one time about it, it may have been before you reading the daily dose. I'll find it and throw a link at the bottom of this reply. The oath has a lot of "legal speak" in it, so I broke it down into common man English so people could actually read just what the lawyers had sworn an oath to do. I think you will enjoy reading it.
Thanks for answering the questions, those will be very helpful to me as I work on part two of that.
Update: I have searched for over an hour and haven't located it , I will , but I am posting the reply less the link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71