You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 10/07/18> Time for some updates…

in #dailydose6 years ago

Well. News from the church. I'm going to guess that puts the over/under at 2 weeks to resolution. I'm thinking if the minister's wife asked she's going to put the bug in her husbands ear. Now it might get down to depending on how entrenched the Youth Minister is in his position. Could be some interesting daily dose material.

I think your daughters are just pretty guzbucking spectacular. That story of Blondie's troop is a lot more than an interested Grandmother story. That takes some dedication and commitment from every member.

Congratulations on her silver award. WooooHooooo.

And it looks to me like Shorty and her troop are on the 'not to be outdone' playlist. A very good thing.

Congratulations to Shorty and her troop on the Bronze Award. I'm saying in public that my weight is in position that I'll be a buyer in the Spring for cookies. Yuma Council might want to order an extra case :)

I still watch the Cardinals every Sunday. Maybe it's penance for my not going to church. Hadn't considered that possibility.

Last time I was married I had a BIL that made just too much money. He had a pager sort of thing that showed the baseball scores. We'd sit side by side in Church and he'd poke me and share updates. Yep, that was well prior to cell phones.

Have a good Sunday my friend. You've earned it.

Sort:  

We shall see, the Mrs. Papper thinks she was asking more for preacher's wife sake than worried about the church saving my soul. I tend to agree, since the conversation about me was just following about how our youngest boy was getting a little burned out on volunteering up at the church. The Mrs. P said it didn't seem like there was real concern but more of a feel of well if your boy doesn't want to volunteer that much anymore, maybe your husband would volunteer some.
If the church was truly worried about saving souls there would already be an APB out on Blondie, since she is a newly confirmed member who has gone missing from both the pews and the youth group activities.
The church has attendance cards in the pews that members are asked to fill out at each service so they can keep track of who is attending church and not. I think they don't even look at those, I think they are more concerned with counting the collection plates offerings than anything.

If you remember the other ministers were made aware that there was some controversy back in late April about the youth minister wanting to read Blondie's paper because they had a meeting to discuss the potential fall out from that, you would think that her missing would have raised some eye brows by now.

So it will all depend on what that ministers wife's motivation was for asking, if she had genuine concern she'll say something; if she had only concern for finding a new volunteer to help with her projects around there than I don't know if she will even bring it up to her husband.
Blondie's troop now is discussing their gold award projects, and I need to find out but I am pretty sure that has to be an individual project and not a group effort.
The project they did for their silver award involved refurbishing a room at a homeless shelter in Houston. I asked her to send me the pictures so I could do a Daily Dose on it but she isn't to keen on that, she doesn't like being "spotlighted" in the Daily Dose. After a year of doing this she might just be thinking that I am serious about my future grandchildren being able to read the stories from here.
Shortie will be a total wreck today from her day yesterday, last year it took her almost three days to recover from that field day. That much physical activity in one day takes it toll on her little body. She isn't even awake yet and they need to leave for church in 45 minutes.
Their bronze award project just got in under the wire time wise, they had a project designed and built for the local school and then the school principal found out that it required approval from the school district in order to have it placed on the school property. So they had to scramble to get another project done and that is how the animal shelter came into play.
Your brother in law was a techie well in advance of others it sounds like, only gamblers had those it seems to me, he wasn't a bookie was he?
You have a good Sunday too, thanks.

Ahahahaha. I think he won it from a bookie! Yes, as a matter of fact, he was a gambler. That one wasn't even my longest marriage and the difficulty had started to arise while we were still married. Long story short, he ended up doing a little time and doesn't make too much money anymore.

Really pretty sad. He was junked up on gambling sure as I was on alcohol and dope. Mine was a hell of a lot easier to see and admit to. I always really liked the guy.

I'm really not convinced that saving souls is the primary purpose of most churches. It really hurts me to say that...

Those bookies were the only ones I can remember having those sorts of things back then, and when cell phones looked like bricks everyone of them had those too.
I tend to agree with your last statement as well, saving is in their agenda not so sure about the souls though.

Yeah, that "volunteer labor" is always a great thing to have. So is guilt as leverage. I need to get me a gig like that.

yes, it is all about leverage isn't it. I wish I could also get some volunteer labor for that tree I need to cut up this fall and winter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58439.16
ETH 2965.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69