You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 09/16/18> Business as usual … if there is such a thing.

in #dailydose6 years ago

At first I thought the mushroom was chaga, but that is not the right shape for it. Could be be tinder fungus? It kind of looks that way from the picture, but I am not an expert at all!

Sort:  

I think it might be that tinder fungus after going and looking at that link you provided. I read where it attacks trees and causes decay and rot and Lord knows this tree was eaten up with both of those from the ground up.
The only thing I didn't see in the description of the tinder fungus was the "consistency" or the hardness, I always think of fungus as being soft and mushy but this is really hard, almost has the feel and hardness of the wood of the tree.
I will look more closely later today. Thanks for the link, I think you may have nailed it, even if you aren't an expert on this item.

Living in the Sacred Woods Temple at Damanhur, I started to understand that not all fungus is soft. That was a shock to me, as well, since I thought that all mushrooms must be the same. Everything related to fungus is fascinating, I only wish I had more time to study it. It is on my list there somewhere!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87