MY DAIRY 3

in #dairy6 years ago

IMG_20180529_150427.jpg

On my way out of the church compound, a hand tapped me. I recognized her face as the woman who sat beside me in church.

"Excuse me please, if you don't mind, can I speak with you?"

Well, I looked at my watch like I had an important engagement to catch up with, before agreeing to indulge her for some minutes. "Alright, just five minutes."

She thanked me.

She sees me every morning and evening as I leave and return to the estate. And sometimes in church, she sees me too. But today, after I carried the little baby who was crying in church from her mother, she knew I was the right person to share this with.

IMG_20180506_115206.jpg

"Alright, can you tell me what you want to share with me?"

She apologized for not telling me her name and also went on to request for my own.

"Echezona Chisom Precious. But you can just call me Chisom or Precious, whichever comes to mind."

"Alright Precious. Thank you Chisom."

Hmmm...

Last Friday, her kids were sent home because she couldn't afford to pay the #6,000 development levy the school requested. Even paying the school fees was a herculean task but she pulled through.

"Madam Chisom, as I am talking to you now, I don't know where I will get this 6k for these children. And I don't want them to leave school."

I was nodding.

A poor woman doesn't have many friends she told me. She only has his fellow poor people who together, they complain and curse the world for their misfortune.

"But you are working. At least you earn some money, why not pay the 6k from there?"

"Madam Chisom..if..." I cut her short.

"Please drop the madam. I'm okay with Chisom."

"Alright Ma, what's that your full name again? I like the way you called it."

"Madam again? This woman. The name is Echezona Chisom Precious. Anyway, what do you want to do now?"

She said his salary is 10k and it is not even enough for anything. Her husband is dead and they find it difficult to eat.

"Madam Chsiom. Sorry, Chisom. I am not telling you this to help me. I just needed someone to talk to. Everybody around me complains just like me, so I needed to share with someone else."

Alright.

"So what will you do about the #6,000?"

"I will find a way. I know these kids won't stay out of school. Don't worry. I only wanted someone to talk to. Thank you for listening to me."

As I got up to leave, I offered her #2,000 but she rejected the money.

She only wanted to talk. And she is feeling a lot better now.

"Please don't be offended I rejected your kind gesture. I didn't talk to you because I wanted the money, I just wanted someone to talk to."

I thanked her and walked away.

Even in suffering, many just want to hear you care. And they'd be fine.

Many just want someone or people that care to listen to their plights; and they will be encouraged to push further.

Here. Now. Always.

I am learning.

am still one of u @Preshchris

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63175.14
ETH 3047.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63