Dance Competition During COVID-19 Pandemic

in #dancesport3 years ago

I participated in Negeri Sembilan International Online Dancesport Challenge 2021. Signed up for Novice I and Novice II Standard dance events. This is the first time I team up with Ai Choo. She is really hardworking and amazing. This is her first Standard dance competition, and she goes directly to Novice, skipping Beginner level. I think she did great, possibly better than me.

New Experience

First competition with new partner, first online competition. Online competition is more like a performance. You pre-record the dance video. If you are not satisfied, you can re-dance again. And you can choose to dance in an environment you are familiar with.

Although it is an interesting experience, I still prefer offline competitions. If gives me strong nervous feeling, which is something I am learning to overcome.

Standard Novice I (Waltz, Quickstep)

Of the 4 dances I learned, I loved Waltz the most. I am quite satisfied with this Waltz dance. 1 of my biggest mistakes is neglecting Quickstep. Teacher have to come out with a new, simple routine 1 month before the competition. Well, it is better to be able to perform basic figures, rather than not being able to perform with fancy figures. I really need to master Scatter Chasse and Pepperpot, as these are commonly used figures for Novice and higher levels.

Standard Novice II (Tango, Foxtrot)

I like this Tango routine. I can feel the adrenaline in my body when I dance it. To me, Foxtrot is the hardest to express. The original routine was simplified for us to perform in this competition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67079.10
ETH 3488.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22